Run the storm: a savage hurricane, a brave crew, and the wreck of the SS El Faro

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Scribner,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Edition:
First Scribner hardcover edition.
Language:
English
Description
" The most insightful exploration of this unthinkable disaster." -- Outside "Here is the pitch-perfect pairing of subject and author, a gripping deconstruction of one of recent history's most terrible and vexing sea tragedies...A meticulous forensic study that, in Foy's able hands, rises to the level of literature." --Hampton Sides "Fans of The Perfect Storm and Into Thin Air will love this exquisitely written and dramatic book. George Foy has an action story that doesn't quit." --Doug Stanton In the bestselling tradition of The Perfect Storm and The Finest Hours , a harrowing true account of the mysterious disappearance of the SS El Faro , a gigantic American cargo ship that sank in the Bermuda Triangle, taking with it thirty-three lives. On October 1, 2015, the SS El Faro , a massive American cargo ship that made regular runs between Jacksonville, Florida and Puerto Rico, delivering everything from deodorant to new Chevrolets, disappeared in Hurricane Joaquin, a category 4 storm. The ship, its hundreds of shipping containers, and its entire crew plummeted to the bottom of the ocean, three miles down. The sinking was the greatest seagoing US merchant marine shipping disaster since World War II. The massive ship had a seasoned crew, state-of-the-art navigation equipment, and advance warning of the storm. It seemed incomprehensible that such a ship could sink so suddenly. How, in this day and age, could something like this happen? The answer is that a ship as large as the El Faro doesn't vanish for just one reason; it vanishes because many factors intersect--everything from hurricane-tracking algorithms to the decay of rubber gaskets on hatches to the arcane science of loading cargo containers to the psychology of a powerful ship's captain. All of these factors and more came into play in the sinking of the El Faro . Relying on Coast Guard inquest hearings as well as on numerous interviews, George Michelsen Foy has crafted a brilliant account that brings to life the final voyage of El Faro , a story that lasts only a few days but which grows almost intolerably suspenseful as deep-rooted flaws leading to the disaster inexorably link together and worsen. We see captain, engineers, and crew fight for their lives, and hear their actual words (as recorded on the ship's black box) while the hurricane relentlessly tightens its noose around the ship. We watch, minute by minute, all that is happening on board--the ship's mysterious tilt to one side, worried calls to the engine room, ship-to-shore reports, the courage of the men and women as they fight to survive, and the berserk ocean's savage consumption of the massive hull. And through it all, the pain and ultimate resilience of the families of El Faro 's crew. Meticulous and absolutely thrilling, Run the Storm is a masterwork of stunning power.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
150118489
9781501184895
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ac648ee7-af7a-273e-98c1-2c0688662c24
Grouping Title run the storm a savage hurricane a brave crew and the wreck of the ss el faro
Grouping Author foy george michelsen
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-13 04:37:05AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-18 04:52:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Foy, George Michelsen,
author_display Foy, George Michelsen
available_at_aacpl Crofton Library, Mountain Road Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Nonfiction, Edgewater Library - Nonfiction, Mountain Road Library - Nonfiction, Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_description In the best-selling tradition of A Perfect Storm and The Finest Hours, a harrowing account of the incredible true story of the recent shocking disappearance of El Faro, a gigantic American cargo ship that disappeared in Hurricane Joaquin and sank suddenly in the Bermuda Triangle in 2015--taking with it 33 lives.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id ac648ee7-af7a-273e-98c1-2c0688662c24
isbn 150118489, 9781501184895
item_details ils:a1438895|31997100835800|Mountain Road Library - Nonfiction|910.916 F|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 09, 2018|MTR||, ils:a1438895|31997100835818|Crofton Library - Nonfiction|910.916 F|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jul 11, 2018|CRO||, ils:a1438895|31997100835826|Crofton Library - Nonfiction|910.916 F|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jun 30, 2018|CRO||, ils:a1438895|31997100836089|Severna Park Library - Nonfiction|910.916 F|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Jul 12, 2018|S-PK||, ils:a1438895|31997100836097|Edgewater Library - Nonfiction|910.916 F|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Jul 07, 2018|EDG||
itype_aacpl Adult Nonfiction
last_indexed 2018-07-18T08:52:50.437Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl 910.916 F
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library, Edgewater Library, Mountain Road Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 150118489
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1438895|Book|Books|First Scribner hardcover edition.|English|Scribner,|2018.|xx, 250 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1438895 31997100835826 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1438895 31997100835800 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1438895 31997100836089 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1438895 31997100835818 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1438895 31997100836097 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet Cargo ships -- Bermuda Triangle, Hurricane Joaquin, 2015, SS El Faro (Cargo ship), Shipwrecks -- Bermuda Triangle
title_display Run the storm : a savage hurricane, a brave crew, and the wreck of the SS El Faro
title_full Run the storm : a savage hurricane, a brave crew, and the wreck of the SS El Faro / George Michelsen Foy
title_short Run the storm :
title_sub a savage hurricane, a brave crew, and the wreck of the SS El Faro
topic_facet Cargo ships, Hurricane Joaquin, 2015, Shipwrecks