Please check the Menu tab on the left for links to our other resources such as Kanopy, Lynda.com, and Rosetta Stone.

The Gracekeepers: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Crown/Archetype
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven , a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance. In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.  Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553446630
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b043e9c6-1846-4156-0fca-a6bc76375ba6
Grouping Title gracekeepers
Grouping Author logan kirsty
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-17 16:06:30PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 16:14:24PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Kirsty Logan
author_display Kirsty Logan
available_at_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
display_description A lyrical and moving debut in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood, introducing an original and commanding new voice in fiction

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland ("landlockers") and those who float on the sea ("damplings"), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives--offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.
format_aacpl eBook
format_category_aacpl eBook
id b043e9c6-1846-4156-0fca-a6bc76375ba6
isbn 9780553446630
item_details overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28|1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|0|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_aacpl
last_indexed 2018-11-17T21:14:24.166Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn 9780553446630
publishDate 2015
record_details overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28|eBook|eBook||English|Crown/Archetype|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:ed57af51-9b3c-48f0-a643-ef3680a98e28 1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false true
title_display The Gracekeepers
title_full The Gracekeepers A Novel
title_short The Gracekeepers
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Fantasy, Fiction, Literature, Mythology