We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Anna and the Swallow Man

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 7.1 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
1160L
Description
Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production A New York Times Bestseller A Booklist Editors' Choice Audio An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the YearA Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award

"Exquisite." -- The Wall Street Journal "This is masterly storytelling." -- The New York Times Book Review

A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief.

Krak w, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Lania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna's father--she knows that very well--but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.

Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553513349
9780553522082
9780553522075
9781101891841
9781101891810
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 7.1, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
1160L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb0abdfb5-5108-8e8f-f2d8-c42bd88d5404
Grouping Titleanna and the swallow man
Grouping Authorgavriel savit
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-18 04:16:44AM
Last Indexed2020-09-18 04:44:42AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781101891834

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value10
accelerated_reader_reading_level7.1
auth_author2Corduner, Allan
authorSavit, Gavriel.
author2-roleCorduner, AllanNarrator
Listening Library.
Recorded Books, Inc.
cloudLibrary
author_displaySavit, Gavriel
available_at_aacplBusch Annapolis Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
YA
detailed_location_aacplBusch Annapolis Library - Young Adult Fiction
Crofton Library - Young Adult Fiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Audiobooks
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Young Adult Fiction
display_descriptionWhen her university professor father is sent by the Gestapo to a concentration camp, seven-year-old Anna travels the Polish countryside with the mysterious Swallow Man during World War II. Krakȯw, 1939. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone until she meets the Swallow Man. He is a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.
format_aacplAudio CD
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idb0abdfb5-5108-8e8f-f2d8-c42bd88d5404
isbn9780553513349
9780553522075
9780553522082
9781101891810
9781101891841
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a125275031997094520426Crofton Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (S)1falsefalseChecked OutSep 15, 2020CRO
ils:a125275031997107167892Busch Annapolis Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (S)1falsefalseOn ShelfApr 14, 2020ANN
ils:a125275031997107167066Busch Annapolis Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (S)1falsefalseOn ShelfApr 14, 2020ANN
ils:a125275031997094520442Severna Park Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (S)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 13, 2020S-PK
overdrive:d0632d74-a07d-4f73-8dd4-f2667a48fc0f-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:d0632d74-a07d-4f73-8dd4-f2667a48fc0f1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14881281488128-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-htsrgr9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
rbdigital:rbdZ100098915rbdZ100098915RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781101891841Available OnlineRBdigital
overdrive:a01b6bf5-5198-43b3-959a-785ccab36d881Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:a01b6bf5-5198-43b3-959a-785ccab36d88-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a135797231997098150790Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - AudiobooksCOMPACT DISC Y FICTION (S)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 26, 2020EAN
itype_aacplElectronic Book
Young Adult Audiobook on CD
Young Adult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-18T08:44:42.022Z
lexile_score1160
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
COMPACT DISC Y FICTION (S)
Online OverDrive
Y FICTION (S)
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBusch Annapolis Library
Crofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780553513349
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1252750BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, 2016.232 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
overdrive:d0632d74-a07d-4f73-8dd4-f2667a48fc0feBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2016
external_econtent:ils:a1488128eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2016.256 p.
ils:a1488128eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2016.256 p.
rbdigital:rbdZ100098915eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishListening Library ;2016, p2016.1 online resource (6 hr., 30 min.)
overdrive:a01b6bf5-5198-43b3-959a-785ccab36d88eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2016
ils:a1357972Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishListening Library ;p2016.6 sound discs (6 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a125275031997094520426Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a125275031997107167892On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a125275031997107167066On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a125275031997094520442On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:d0632d74-a07d-4f73-8dd4-f2667a48fc0f-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d0632d74-a07d-4f73-8dd4-f2667a48fc0f1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14881281488128-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
rbdigital:rbdZ100098915rbdZ100098915Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:a01b6bf5-5198-43b3-959a-785ccab36d881Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:a01b6bf5-5198-43b3-959a-785ccab36d88-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:a135797231997098150790On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facet
Audiobooks
Children's audiobooks (CD)
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
Europe -- People & Places
Historical fiction
Holocaust -- Historical
JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes
Juvenile fiction
Novels
Orphans & Foster Homes -- Family
Poland -- History -- Occupation, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
Poland -- History -- Occupation, 1939-1945 -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Poland -- History -- Occupation, 1939-1945 -- Juvenile fiction
Poland -- History -- Occupation, 1939-1945 -- Juvenile fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Survival -- Fiction
Survival -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
World War, 1939-1945 -- Poland -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Poland -- Fiction -- Audiobooks (CD)
Young adult fiction
title_displayAnna and the Swallow Man
title_fullAnna and the Swallow Man
Anna and the Swallow Man / Gavriel Savit
Anna and the Swallow Man [eBook] Savit, Gavriel.
Anna and the Swallow Man [sound recording] / Gavriel Savit
Anna and the swallow man [electronic resource] / Gavriel Savit
title_shortAnna and the Swallow Man
topic_facetAudiobooks (CD)
Europe
Historical Fiction
History
Holocaust
JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes
Juvenile fiction
Orphans & Foster Homes
Survival
World War, 1939-1945
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature