The glass eye: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Tin House Books,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Edition:
First US edition.
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Maggie Nelson and Meghan O'Rourke, Jeannie Vanasco emerges as a definitive new voice in this stunning portrait of a daughter's love for her father and her near-unraveling after his death. The night before her father dies, eighteen-year-old Jeannie Vanasco promises she will write a book for him. But this isn't the book she imagined. The Glass Eye is Jeannie's struggle to honor her father, her larger-than-life hero but also the man who named her after his daughter from a previous marriage, a daughter who died. After his funeral, Jeannie spends the next decade in escalating mania, in and out of hospitals--increasingly obsessed with the other Jeanne. Obsession turns to investigation as Jeannie plumbs her childhood awareness of her dead half sibling and hunts for clues into the mysterious circumstances of her death. It becomes a puzzle Jeannie feels she must solve to better understand herself and her father. Jeannie Vanasco pulls us into her unraveling with such intimacy that her insanity becomes palpable, even logical. A brilliant exploration of the human psyche, The Glass Eye deepens our definitions of love, sanity, grief, and recovery.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781941040775
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b140cca9-a244-70e6-309a-6c2b0271d42c
Full title glass eye a memoir
Author vanasco jeannie
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-22 04:36:54AM
Last Indexed 2018-05-23 04:41:00AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Vanasco, Jeannie,
author_display Vanasco, Jeannie
available_at_aacpl Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Nonfiction, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction, Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction, Odenton Library - Nonfiction, Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_description After her father dies, the author becomes obsessed with her half-sister, who died before she was born and for whom she was named, and hunts for clues into the mysterious circumstances of her death.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id b140cca9-a244-70e6-309a-6c2b0271d42c
isbn 9781941040775
item_details ils:a1432652|31997100719855|Crofton Library - Nonfiction|921 VANASCO|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 15, 2018|CRO||, ils:a1432652|31997100719863|Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction|921 VANASCO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EAN||, ils:a1432652|31997100719871|Severna Park Library - Nonfiction|921 VANASCO|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 04, 2018|S-PK||, ils:a1432652|31997100719889|Odenton Library - Nonfiction|921 VANASCO|||1|false|false|||||On Hold||WCO||, ils:a1432652|31997100719897|Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction|921 VANASCO|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 10, 2018|NCO||
itype_aacpl Adult Nonfiction
last_indexed 2018-05-23T08:41:00.427Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl 921 VANASCO
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library, Glen Burnie Library, Odenton Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 9781941040775
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:a1432652|Book|Books|First US edition.|English|Tin House Books,|2017.|277 pages ; 22 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl ils:a1432652|31997100719855|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:a1432652|31997100719863|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:a1432652|31997100719871|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:a1432652|31997100719889|Checked Out|On Hold|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:a1432652|31997100719897|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||
subject_facet Autobiographies, Fathers and daughters, Grief, Vanasco, Jeannie
title_display The glass eye : a memoir
title_full The glass eye : a memoir / Jeannie Vanasco
title_short The glass eye :
title_sub a memoir
topic_facet Fathers and daughters, Grief, Vanasco, Jeannie