We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Familiars

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Familiars volume 1.
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Pub. Date:
2010
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 6.3 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
920L
Description

For fans of Warriors and Wings of Fire comes a magical adventure story about a street cat who's mistaken for a wizard's familiar.

"Whether furry, flippered or feathered you'll be taking a closer look at your family pet." --Michael Buckley, author of The Sisters Grimm and NERDS

When Aldwyn, a young alley cat on the run, ducks into a mysterious pet shop, he doesn't expect his life to change. But that's exactly what happens when Jack, a young wizard in training, picks Aldwyn to be his magical familiar.

Finally off the tough streets, Aldwyn thinks he's got it made. He just has to convince the other familiars--the know-it-all blue jay Skylar and the friendly tree frog Gilbert--that he's the telekinetic cat he claims to be. But when Jack and two other wizards in training are captured by the evil queen, Aldwyn will have to use all of his street smarts, a few good friends, and a nose for adventure to save the day!

This delightful Indie Next pick is beloved by hundreds of thousands of readers and was named to nine state award lists. Don't miss any of the exciting books in the Familiars series: Secrets of the Crown, Circle of Heroes, and Palace of Dreams.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062009630
9780061996870
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 6.3, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
920L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb25897ea-a430-b5fe-8ead-56e0544edfd3
Grouping Titlefamiliars
Grouping Authoradam jay epstein
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-27 04:45:20AM
Last Indexed2020-09-27 05:11:47AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780061961083

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value10
accelerated_reader_reading_level6.3
authorAdam Jay Epstein
author_displayAdam Jay Epstein
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

For fans of Warriors and The Magic Thief comes a magical adventure story about a street cat who's mistaken for a wizard's familiar.

"Whether furry, flippered or feathered you'll be taking a closer look at your family pet." —Michael Buckley, author of The Sisters Grimm and NERDS

When Aldwyn, a young alley cat on the run, ducks into a mysterious pet shop, he doesn't expect his life to change. But that's exactly what happens when Jack, a young wizard in training, picks Aldwyn to be his magical familiar.

Finally off the tough streets, Aldwyn thinks he's got it made. He just has to convince the other familiars—the know-it-all blue jay Skylar and the friendly tree frog Gilbert—that he's the telekinetic cat he claims to be. But when Jack and two other wizards in training are captured by the evil queen, Aldwyn will have to use all of his street smarts, a few good friends, and a nose for adventure to save the day!

This delightful Indie Next pick is beloved by hundreds of thousands of readers and was named to nine state award lists. Don't miss any of the exciting books in the Familiars series: Secrets of the Crown, Circle of Heroes, and Palace of Dreams.

format_aacpleAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
idb25897ea-a430-b5fe-8ead-56e0544edfd3
isbn9780061996870
9780062009630
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:30013e20-3466-4f84-a919-26bf6725c3be-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:30013e20-3466-4f84-a919-26bf6725c3be1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:d0626b8e-98b5-4095-a2d0-c551976eb7b9-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:d0626b8e-98b5-4095-a2d0-c551976eb7b91Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
last_indexed2020-09-27T09:11:47.419Z
lexile_score920
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplOnline OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780062009630
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:30013e20-3466-4f84-a919-26bf6725c3beeBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2010
overdrive:d0626b8e-98b5-4095-a2d0-c551976eb7b9eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHarperCollins2010
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:30013e20-3466-4f84-a919-26bf6725c3be-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:30013e20-3466-4f84-a919-26bf6725c3be1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:d0626b8e-98b5-4095-a2d0-c551976eb7b9-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d0626b8e-98b5-4095-a2d0-c551976eb7b91Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesFamiliars
series_with_volumeFamiliars|1
title_displayThe Familiars
title_fullThe Familiars
title_shortThe Familiars
topic_facetFantasy
Juvenile Fiction