We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The other typist

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description
"Take a dollop of Alfred Hitchcock, a dollop of Patricia Highsmith, throw in some Great Gatsby flourishes, and the result is Rindell's debut, a pitch-black comedy about a police stenographer accused of murder in 1920s Manhattan.... A deliciously addictive, cinematically influenced page-turner, both comic and provocative." -- Kirkus Reviews , starred review For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators in years.   Rose Baker seals men's fates. With a few strokes of the keys that sit before her, she can send a person away for life in prison. A typist in a New York City Police Department precinct, Rose is like a high priestess. Confessions are her job. It is 1923, and while she may hear every detail about shootings, knifings, and murders, as soon as she leaves the interrogation room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for filing and making coffee.

This is a new era for women, and New York is a confusing place for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. All around her women bob their hair, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. Yet prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood. When glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie's spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie's high-stakes world. And soon her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399161469
9781101928387
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb9ba774e-5352-7b2f-0a09-61111638b8e0
Grouping Titleother typist
Grouping Authorsuzanne rindell
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-18 04:16:44AM
Last Indexed2020-09-18 04:45:11AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSuzanne Rindell
author_displayRindell, Suzanne
available_at_aacplMaryland City at Russett Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplMaryland City at Russett Library - Adult Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_descriptionWorking as a typist for the NYC Police Department in 1923, Rose Baker documents confessions of harrowing crimes and struggles with changing gender roles while clinging to her Victorian ideals and searching for nurturing companionship before becoming obsessed with a glamorous newcomer and her world of bobbed hair, smoking and speakeasies.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idb9ba774e-5352-7b2f-0a09-61111638b8e0
isbn9780399161469
9781101928387
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:ee7ea3a3-80a2-4bf2-9c59-1cdf3adcfcee1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a99089831997082982323Maryland City at Russett Library - Adult FictionFICTION (R)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 15, 2020MDC
ils:a99089831997082783317Severna Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (R)1falsefalseChecked OutSep 02, 2020S-PK
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-18T08:45:11.961Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplFICTION (R)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplMaryland City at Russett Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780399161469
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:ee7ea3a3-80a2-4bf2-9c59-1cdf3adcfceeeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2013
ils:a990898BookBooksEnglishG.P. Putnam's Sons , 2013.356 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ee7ea3a3-80a2-4bf2-9c59-1cdf3adcfcee1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a99089831997082982323On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a99089831997082783317Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetHistorical fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 1898-1951 -- Fiction
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction
Police stations -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Typewriting -- Fiction
Women -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
title_displayThe other typist
title_fullThe Other Typist
The other typist / Suzanne Rindell
title_shortThe other typist
topic_facetFiction
History
Literature
Nineteen twenties
Police stations
Typewriting
Women