We want your input on the future of our Libraries. Learn more.

The House of Government: a saga of the Russian Revolution

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Princeton University Press,
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Language:
English
Description

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace , Grossman's Life and Fate , and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago , Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.

Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.

Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780691176949
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c0f16c5d-4eba-cf66-d116-c57de458c360
full_title house of government a saga of the russian revolution
author slezkine yuri
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-10-11 04:43:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Slezkine, Yuri, 1956-
author_display Slezkine, Yuri
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Annapolis Library - Nonfiction, Annapolis Library - Withdrawn from the collection
display_description "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id c0f16c5d-4eba-cf66-d116-c57de458c360
isbn 9780691176949
item_details ils:a1395899|1395899-1001|Annapolis Library - Nonfiction|947.084 S|||1|false|false|||||Available Soon||ANN||, ils:a1395899|31997096281969|Annapolis Library - Withdrawn from the collection|947.084 S|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 10, 2017|ANN||
itype_aacpl Adult Nonfiction
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl 947.084 S
local_time_since_added_aacpl 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Annapolis Library
primary_isbn 9780691176949
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:a1395899|Book|Books||English|Princeton University Press,|[2017]|xv, 1104 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl ils:a1395899|1395899-1001|Coming Soon|Available Soon|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:a1395899|31997096281969|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|true||||
subject_facet Apartment dwellers -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography, Apartment houses -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- History -- 20th century, Biographies, Communists -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography, Dom na Naberezhnoi╠ć (Moscow, Russia), Moscow (Russia) -- Biography, Moscow (Russia) -- Buildings, structures, etc, Moscow (Russia) -- Politics and government -- 20th century, Political purges -- Soviet Union -- History, Soviet Union -- Politics and government -- 1936-1953, State-sponsored terrorism -- Soviet Union -- History, Victims of state-sponsored terrorism -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
title_display The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution
title_full The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution / Yuri Slezkine
title_short The House of Government :
title_sub a saga of the Russian Revolution
topic_facet Apartment dwellers, Apartment houses, Buildings, structures, etc, Communists, History, Political purges, Politics and government, State-sponsored terrorism, Victims of state-sponsored terrorism