Due to system upgrades, item availablilty information may not be accurate at this time. Please call to ensure the availabilty of an item. 

The House of Government: a saga of the Russian Revolution

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Princeton University Press,
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Language:
English
Description

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace , Grossman's Life and Fate , and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago , Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.

Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.

Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780691176949
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c0f16c5d-4eba-cf66-d116-c57de458c360
Grouping Title house of government a saga of the russian revolution
Grouping Author slezkine yuri
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-08-04 04:36:32AM
Last Indexed 2019-08-15 09:10:52AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Slezkine, Yuri, 1956-
author_display Slezkine, Yuri
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Annapolis Library - Nonfiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction
display_description "On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id c0f16c5d-4eba-cf66-d116-c57de458c360
isbn 9780691176949
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a1395899 31997096281969 Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction 947.084 S 1 false false Checked Out Aug 03, 2019 EAN
ils:a1395899 1395899-1001 Annapolis Library - Nonfiction 947.084 S 1 false false Available Soon ANN
itype_aacpl Adult Nonfiction
last_indexed 2019-08-15T13:10:52.802Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl 947.084 S
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Annapolis Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
primary_isbn 9780691176949
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1395899 Book Books English Princeton University Press, [2017] xv, 1104 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1395899 31997096281969 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1395899 1395899-1001 Coming Soon Available Soon false false true false false true
subject_facet Apartment dwellers -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Apartment houses -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- History -- 20th century
Biographies
Communists -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Dom na Naberezhnoi╠ć (Moscow, Russia)
Moscow (Russia) -- Biography
Moscow (Russia) -- Buildings, structures, etc
Moscow (Russia) -- Politics and government -- 20th century
Political purges -- Soviet Union -- History
Soviet Union -- Politics and government -- 1936-1953
State-sponsored terrorism -- Soviet Union -- History
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
title_display The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution
title_full The House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution / Yuri Slezkine
title_short The House of Government :
title_sub a saga of the Russian Revolution
topic_facet Apartment dwellers
Apartment houses
Buildings, structures, etc
Communists
History
Political purges
Politics and government
State-sponsored terrorism
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism