The House of Government: a saga of the Russian Revolution

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Princeton University Press,
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Language:
English
Description

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction

The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace , Grossman's Life and Fate , and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago , Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union.

Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths.

Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780691176949
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDc0f16c5d-4eba-cf66-d116-c57de458c360
Grouping Titlehouse of government a saga of the russian revolution
Grouping Authorslezkine yuri
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-28 04:11:32AM
Last Indexed2019-12-10 04:16:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSlezkine, Yuri, 1956-
author_displaySlezkine, Yuri
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplAnnapolis Library - Nonfiction
Broadneck Library - Nonfiction
display_description"On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction. The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman's Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn's The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine's gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin's purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children's loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 550 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building's residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared"--Provided by publisher.
format_aacplBook
format_category_aacplBooks
idc0f16c5d-4eba-cf66-d116-c57de458c360
isbn9780691176949
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a139589931997096281969Broadneck Library - Nonfiction947.084 S1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 24, 2019BDN
ils:a13958991395899-1001Annapolis Library - Nonfiction947.084 S1falsefalseAvailable SoonANN
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
last_indexed2019-12-10T09:16:38.517Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl947.084 S
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacplAnnapolis Library
Broadneck Library
primary_isbn9780691176949
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1395899BookBooksEnglishPrinceton University Press, [2017]xv, 1104 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a139589931997096281969On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a13958991395899-1001Coming SoonAvailable Soonfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetApartment dwellers -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Apartment houses -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- History -- 20th century
Biographies
Communists -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
Dom na Naberezhnoi╠ć (Moscow, Russia)
Moscow (Russia) -- Biography
Moscow (Russia) -- Buildings, structures, etc
Moscow (Russia) -- Politics and government -- 20th century
Political purges -- Soviet Union -- History
Soviet Union -- Politics and government -- 1936-1953
State-sponsored terrorism -- Soviet Union -- History
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism -- Russia (Federation) -- Moscow -- Biography
title_displayThe House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution
title_fullThe House of Government : a saga of the Russian Revolution / Yuri Slezkine
title_shortThe House of Government
title_suba saga of the Russian Revolution
topic_facetApartment dwellers
Apartment houses
Buildings, structures, etc
Communists
History
Political purges
Politics and government
State-sponsored terrorism
Victims of state-sponsored terrorism