All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn on library property by anyone over the age of two regardless of vaccine status.

The war that ended peace: the road to 1914

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Description

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review

  • The Economist
  • The Christian Science Monitor
  • Bloomberg Businessweek
  • The Globe and MailFrom the bestselling and award-winning author of Paris 1919 comes a masterpiece of narrative nonfiction, a fascinating portrait of Europe from 1900 up to the outbreak of World War I. The century since the end of the Napoleonic wars had been the most peaceful era Europe had known since the fall of the Roman Empire. In the first years of the twentieth century, Europe believed it was marching to a golden, happy, and prosperous future. But instead, complex personalities and rivalries, colonialism and ethnic nationalisms, and shifting alliances helped to bring about the failure of the long peace and the outbreak of a war that transformed Europe and the world. The War That Ended Peace brings vividly to life the military leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers, and the extended, interrelated family of crowned heads across Europe who failed to stop the descent into war: in Germany, the mercurial Kaiser Wilhelm II and the chief of the German general staff, Von Moltke the Younger; in Austria-Hungary, Emperor Franz Joseph, a man who tried, through sheer hard work, to stave off the coming chaos in his empire; in Russia, Tsar Nicholas II and his wife; in Britain, King Edward VII, Prime Minister Herbert Asquith, and British admiral Jacky Fisher, the fierce advocate of naval reform who entered into the arms race with Germany that pushed the continent toward confrontation on land and sea. There are the would-be peacemakers as well, among them prophets of the horrors of future wars whose warnings went unheeded: Alfred Nobel, who donated his fortune to the cause of international understanding, and Bertha von Suttner, a writer and activist who was the first woman awarded Nobel's new Peace Prize. Here too we meet the urbane and cosmopolitan Count Harry Kessler, who noticed many of the early signs that something was stirring in Europe; the young Winston Churchill, then First Lord of the Admiralty and a rising figure in British politics; Madame Caillaux, who shot a man who might have been a force for peace; and more. With indelible portraits, MacMillan shows how the fateful decisions of a few powerful people changed the course of history. Taut, suspenseful, and impossible to put down, The War That Ended Peace is also a wise cautionary reminder of how wars happen in spite of the near-universal desire to keep the peace. Destined to become a classic in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman's The Guns of August, The War That Ended Peace enriches our understanding of one of the defining periods and events of the twentieth century. Praise for The War That Ended Peace "Magnificent . . . The War That Ended Peace will certainly rank among the best books of the centennial crop."The Economist "Superb."The New York Times Book Review "Masterly . . . marvelous . . . Those looking to understand why World War I happened will have a hard time finding a better place to start."The Christian Science Monitor "The debate over the war's origins has raged for years. Ms. MacMillan's explanation goes straight to the heart of political fallibility. . . . Elegantly written, with wonderful character sketches of the key players, this is a book to be treasured."—The Wall Street Journal"A magisterial 600-page panorama."—Christopher Clark, London Review of...
  • Also in This Series
    More Like This
    More Details
    ISBN:
    9781400068555
    9780812994704
    Staff View

    Grouping Information

    Grouped Work IDc4737ff1-5c0c-75ac-afe7-c15b636684cd
    Grouping Titlewar that ended peace the road to 1914
    Grouping Authormargaret macmillan
    Grouping Categorybook
    Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
    Last Grouping Update2021-04-16 04:15:51AM
    Last Indexed2021-04-16 04:43:54AM
    Novelist Primary ISBN9781400068555

    Solr Details

    accelerated_reader_point_value0
    accelerated_reader_reading_level0
    authorMargaret Macmillan
    author_displayMacMillan, Margaret
    available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
    Busch Annapolis Library
    Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
    collection_aacplADULT
    detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Nonfiction
    Busch Annapolis Library - Nonfiction
    Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction
    Online OverDrive Collection
    display_description

    NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
    The New York Times Book Review

  • The Economist
  • The Christian Science Monitor
  • Bloomberg Businessweek
  • The Globe and Mail

    From the bestselling and award-winning author of Paris 1919 comes a masterpiece of narrative nonfiction, a fascinating portrait of Europe from 1900 up to the outbreak of World War I.

    The century since the end of the Napoleonic wars had been the most peaceful era Europe had known since the fall of the Roman Empire. In the first years of the twentieth century, Europe believed it was marching to a golden, happy, and prosperous future. But instead, complex personalities and rivalries, colonialism and ethnic nationalisms, and shifting alliances helped to bring about the failure of the long peace and the outbreak of a war that transformed Europe and the world.

    The War That Ended Peace brings vividly to life the military leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers, and the extended, interrelated family of crowned heads across Europe who failed to stop the descent into war: in Germany, the mercurial Kaiser Wilhelm II and the chief of the German general staff, Von Moltke the Younger; in Austria-Hungary, Emperor Franz Joseph, a man who tried, through sheer hard work, to stave off the coming chaos in his empire; in Russia, Tsar Nicholas II and his wife; in Britain, King Edward VII, Prime Minister Herbert Asquith, and British admiral Jacky Fisher, the fierce advocate of naval reform who entered into the arms race with Germany that pushed the continent toward confrontation on land and sea.

    There are the would-be peacemakers as well, among them prophets of the horrors of future wars whose warnings went unheeded: Alfred Nobel, who donated his fortune to the cause of international understanding, and Bertha von Suttner, a writer and activist who was the first woman awarded Nobel's new Peace Prize. Here too we meet the urbane and cosmopolitan Count Harry Kessler, who noticed many of the early signs that something was stirring in Europe; the young Winston Churchill, then First Lord of the Admiralty and a rising figure in British politics; Madame Caillaux, who shot a man who might have been a force for peace; and more. With indelible portraits, MacMillan shows how the fateful decisions of a few powerful people changed the course of history.

    Taut, suspenseful, and impossible to put down, The War That Ended Peace is also a wise cautionary reminder of how wars happen in spite of the near-universal desire to keep the peace. Destined to become a classic in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman's The Guns of August, The War That Ended Peace enriches our understanding of one of the defining periods and events of the twentieth century.

    Praise for The War That Ended Peace

    "Magnificent . . . The War That Ended Peace will certainly rank among the best books of the centennial crop."The Economist

    "Superb."The New York Times Book Review

    "Masterly . . . marvelous . . . Those looking to understand why World War I happened will have a hard time finding a better place to start."The Christian Science Monitor

    "The debate over the war's origins has raged for years. Ms. MacMillan's explanation goes straight to the heart of political fallibility. . . . Elegantly written, with wonderful character sketches of the key players, this is a book to be treasured."—The Wall Street Journal
    "A magisterial 600-page panorama."—Christopher Clark, London Review of...
  • format_aacplBook
    eBook
    format_category_aacplBooks
    eBook
    idc4737ff1-5c0c-75ac-afe7-c15b636684cd
    isbn9780812994704
    9781400068555
    item_details
    Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
    overdrive:4bbb964e-8321-430d-a85d-d7e5b284b7851Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
    overdrive:4bbb964e-8321-430d-a85d-d7e5b284b785-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
    ils:a103772431997087834735Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction940.311 M1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 09, 2020EAN
    ils:a103772431997087834727Broadneck Library - Nonfiction940.311 M1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 28, 2019BDN
    ils:a103772431997087834719Busch Annapolis Library - Nonfiction940.311 M1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 13, 2020ANN
    itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
    last_indexed2021-04-16T08:43:54.499Z
    lexile_score-1
    literary_formNon Fiction
    literary_form_fullNon Fiction
    local_callnumber_aacpl940.311 M
    Online OverDrive
    owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
    Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
    owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
    Busch Annapolis Library
    Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
    Online OverDrive Collection
    primary_isbn9781400068555
    publishDate2013
    record_details
    Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
    overdrive:4bbb964e-8321-430d-a85d-d7e5b284b785eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
    ils:a1037724BookBooksEnglishRandom House, 2013.xxxv, 739 pages : illustrations, maps ; 25 cm.
    recordtypegrouped_work
    scoping_details_aacpl
    Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
    overdrive:4bbb964e-8321-430d-a85d-d7e5b284b7851Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
    overdrive:4bbb964e-8321-430d-a85d-d7e5b284b785-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
    ils:a103772431997087834735On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:a103772431997087834727On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    ils:a103772431997087834719On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
    subject_facetWorld War, 1914-1918 -- Causes
    title_displayThe war that ended peace : the road to 1914
    title_fullThe War That Ended Peace The Road to 1914
    The war that ended peace : the road to 1914 / Margaret MacMillan
    title_shortThe war that ended peace
    title_subthe road to 1914
    topic_facetCauses
    History
    Military
    Nonfiction
    Politics
    World War, 1914-1918