We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

How we learn: the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2014.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today--and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We're told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital. But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort? In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives--and less of a chore. By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it's wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it's smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that's because the research defies what we've been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn. The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn't take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993882
9780449807804
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDcc448d5c-2e67-1e23-f3d6-a73d30784366
Grouping Titlehow we learn the surprising truth about when where and why it happens
Grouping Authorbenedict carey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-17 04:16:54AM
Last Indexed2020-09-17 04:45:36AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorCarey, Benedict,
author_displayCarey, Benedict
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Crofton Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Nonfiction
Crofton Library - Nonfiction
Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionIn How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey's search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives--and less of a chore.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idcc448d5c-2e67-1e23-f3d6-a73d30784366
isbn9780449807804
9780812993882
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed3171Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a113907631997096165998Broadneck Library - Nonfiction153.15 C1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 26, 2019BDN
ils:a113907631997096166020Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction153.15 C1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 22, 2020NCO
ils:a113907631997096166004Crofton Library - Nonfiction153.15 C1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 12, 2019CRO
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
last_indexed2020-09-17T08:45:36.965Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl153.15 C
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Crofton Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780812993882
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed317eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
ils:a1139076BookBooksEnglishRandom House, 2014.xvi, 254 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:dda8bcad-139a-44c1-8308-b9ca22eed3171Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a113907631997096165998On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a113907631997096166020On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a113907631997096166004On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetLearning
Learning, Psychology of
title_displayHow we learn : the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens
title_fullHow We Learn The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens
How we learn : the surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens / Benedict Carey
title_shortHow we learn
title_subthe surprising truth about when, where, and why it happens
topic_facetEducation
Learning
Learning, Psychology of
Nonfiction
Psychology
Self-Improvement