Visit our website for special announcements.

Please wear a mask and learn how AACPL is working to keep everyone safe.

Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

Girl at War: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION


Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana’s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana’s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she’s tried to move on from her past, she can’t escape her memories of war—secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country’s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl—and its legacy on all of us. It’s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

“Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

“[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader’s attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes.”Vanity Fair

“Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature’s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.”USA Today
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780812996357
9781101914137
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDcd62a921-f0e0-23eb-959f-4ddefcbb735f
Grouping Titlegirl at war
Grouping Authorsara novic
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-01-28 04:07:47AM
Last Indexed2022-01-28 04:41:56AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorNović, Sara, 1987-
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayNović, Sara
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplOnline
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionFor readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE • ALEX AWARD WINNER • LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST • LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION


Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana’s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana’s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she’s tried to move on from her past, she can’t escape her memories of war—secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country’s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl—and its legacy on all of us. It’s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

“Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

“[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader’s attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes.”Vanity Fair

“Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature’s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.”USA Today
format_aacpleAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
idcd62a921-f0e0-23eb-959f-4ddefcbb735f
isbn9780812996357
9781101914137
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
external_econtent:ils:a14851041485104-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-fhmewg9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a051Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a05-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d61Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books4falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_aacplElectronic Book
last_indexed2022-01-28T09:41:56.144Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780812996357
publishDate2015
publisherPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group
Random House Publishing Group,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
external_econtent:ils:a1485104eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015368 pages
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a05eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d6eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2015
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14851041485104-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a051Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a05-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d61Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetComing of Age -- Fiction
Croatia -- History -- 1990- -- Fiction
Electronic books
title_displayGirl at War A Novel
title_fullGirl at War A Novel
Girl at war : a novel [eBook] Nović, Sara, 1987-
title_shortGirl at War
title_suba novel
topic_facetComing of Age
Fiction
History
Literature