Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.
 

The Linthicum Library will be closed from Monday, October 26 through Wednesday, November 4 for HVAC replacement. 

 

Girl at war: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For readers of The Tiger's Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl's coming of age-and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.   Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia's capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana's idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana's sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.   New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she's tried to move on from her past, she can't escape her memories of war-secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country's difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.   Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl-and its legacy on all of us. It's a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.   Advance praise for Girl at War   "An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual, Girl at War is a remarkable debut by a writer working with deep reserves of talent, heart, and mind." -Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story and Little Failure   "Intimate, crushingly brutal, and beautiful, Girl at War is the work of someone far more mature than her years. It constitutes signal proof that even great history is insufficient to tell the story of the twentieth century in Europe: Great fiction like this book is required, too." -Robert D. Kaplan, author of Balkan Ghosts and Asia's Cauldron   "Nović's important debut brings painfully home the jarring fact that what happens in today's headlines on a daily basis-the atrocities of wars in Africa and the Mideast-is neither new nor even particularly the worst that humankind can commit. . . . . Thanks to Nović's considerable skill, Ana's return visit to her homeland and her past is nearly as cathartic for the reader as it is for Ana." - Booklist (starred review) "With piercing clarity and devastating wit, Sara Nović traces the enduring fallout of a childhood interrupted by conflict. Girl at War is a deeply affecting meditation on identity and memory, loss and survival, and what it means to feel at home in the world." -Jennifer duBois, author of Cartwheel and A Partial History of Lost Causes   "Nović writes with ruthless understatement not only about a modern city subjected to primitive horrors, but about young Ana's subsequent war against the American urge to forget. Sentence after perfectly weighted sentence lands with the sound of a gavel. The first fifty pages might be the best fifty pages you read this year." -Jonathan Dee, author of the Pulitzer Prize finalist The Privileges and A Thousand Pardons
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812996340
9781101914137
9780812996357
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDcd62a921-f0e0-23eb-959f-4ddefcbb735f
Grouping Titlegirl at war
Grouping Authorsara novic
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-24 16:06:41PM
Last Indexed2020-10-24 16:08:05PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Whelan, Julia.
authorNovic, Sara.
author2-roleBooks on Tape, Inc.
Whelan, Julia.|Narrator
cloudLibrary
author_displayNovic, Sara
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Adult Fiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionWhen her happy life in 1991 Croatia is shattered by civil war, ten-year-old Ana Juric is embroiled in a world of guerilla warfare and child soldiers before making a daring escape to America, where years later she struggles to hide her past.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idcd62a921-f0e0-23eb-959f-4ddefcbb735f
isbn9780812996340
9780812996357
9781101914137
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
rbdigital:rbdZ100086420rbdZ100086420RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781101914137Available OnlineRBdigital
ils:a117776231997094142718Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult FictionFICTION (N)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 29, 2020EAN
ils:a117776231997089013809Broadneck Library - Adult FictionFICTION (N)1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 13, 2020BDN
external_econtent:ils:a14851041485104-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-fhmewg9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a05-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a051Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books4falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d61Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-10-24T20:08:05.272Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
FICTION (N)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780812996340
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
rbdigital:rbdZ100086420eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBooks on Tape ;2015, p2015.1 online resource (7 hr., 32 min.)
ils:a1177762BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2015]320 pages : maps ; 21 cm
external_econtent:ils:a1485104eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2015.368 p.
ils:a1485104eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2015.368 p.
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a05eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d6eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2015
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a117776231997094142718On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a117776231997089013809On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14851041485104-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a05-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:29b0e6ae-ce26-4443-acb1-0e3d76a77a051Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:408d1fda-7e47-4c3c-9144-452f401b05d61Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAudiobooks
Coming of Age -- Fiction
Croatia -- History -- 1990- -- Fiction
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
FICTION / Literary
Fiction
Historical fiction
title_displayGirl at war : a novel
title_fullGirl at War A Novel
Girl at war : a novel / Sara Nović
Girl at war : a novel [eBook] Nović, Sara, 1987-
Girl at war [electronic resource] : a novel / Sara Novic
title_shortGirl at war
title_suba novel
topic_facetComing of Age
FICTION / Literary
Fiction
History
Literature