Kingdom of the blazing phoenix

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Philomel Books,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Language:
English
Description
This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to that breathtaking and dazzling story. Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as Empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn't want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the Empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire? Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won't soon forget. Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen , and The Wrath and the Dawn will hungrily devour this page-turning read. Praise for Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix : "There aren't many authors who could so precisely undo their first book with their second, but it is this clever unweaving that shows Dao's brilliance and skill. With heart-stopping action and wonderful new characters, this is not a sequel to be missed." --EK Johnston, #1 New York Times bestselling author "A lush, enchanting tale of magic, myth, and absolute courage. At once gorgeously woven and deliciously gruesome, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is a thrilling end to a series that feels like a classic in its own right." --Natalie Mae, author of The Kinder Poison " Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is the stunning counterpoint to Forest of a Thousand Lanterns . A refreshing take on the classic heroine, and an adventure of stories nestled within stories, this is a book fairytale lovers will tuck among their most beloved treasures." --Emily X.R. Pan, New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After " Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix broke my heart and filled it, all at once. In the process, Julie C. Dao has turned a well-worn tale into something thrilling and new. Ornate, tender, and magical. I could not put this book down." --Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night and Crown of Thunder "Beautifully written and masterfully told, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix feels at once timeless and entirely new . . . I loved it with my whole heart." --Margaret Rogerson, New York Times bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens "Utterly brilliant in every way, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is the perfect follow-up to Julie C. Dao's debut. This is the dark fantasy I've been waiting for, and I can't get enough!" --Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of Give the Dark My Love "A grand adventure for fans of fairy tales, fables, and legends coupled with the vibrant history of Chinese dynasties."-- Kirkus Reviews * "A top purchase for most fantasy collections." -- School Library Journal , starred review
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524738327
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID cfa00a49-5ebc-8fe3-623f-ea04a4364808
Grouping Title kingdom of the blazing phoenix
Grouping Author dao julie c
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-04-15 04:46:12AM
Last Indexed 2019-04-21 04:40:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Dao, Julie C.,
author_display Dao, Julie C
available_at_aacpl Brooklyn Park Library, Edgewater Library, Glen Burnie Library, Linthicum Library, Maryland City at Russett Library, Mountain Road Library, Riviera Beach Library
collection_aacpl YA
detailed_location_aacpl Brooklyn Park Library - Young Adult Fiction, Edgewater Library - Young Adult Fiction, Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult Fiction, Linthicum Library - Young Adult Fiction, Maryland City at Russett Library - Young Adult Fiction, Mountain Road Library - Young Adult Fiction, Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction, Riviera Beach Library - Young Adult Fiction
display_description Following a changeable map and clues from folktales, Princess Jade embarks on a quest to summon the Dragon Lords, defeat her evil stepmother Empress Xifeng, and bring peace to the kingdoms of Feng Lu.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id cfa00a49-5ebc-8fe3-623f-ea04a4364808
isbn 9781524738327
item_details ils:a1540770|31997101796001|Maryland City at Russett Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MDC||, ils:a1540770|31997101796019|Glen Burnie Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 12, 2019|NCO||, ils:a1540770|31997101796027|Linthicum Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||LIN||, ils:a1540770|31997101796035|Edgewater Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 02, 2019|EDG||, ils:a1540770|31997101796043|Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Apr 14, 2019|WCO||, ils:a1540770|31997101796050|Brooklyn Park Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Jan 29, 2019|BPK||, ils:a1540770|31997101796068|Riviera Beach Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 14, 2019|RIV||, ils:a1540770|31997101796076|Mountain Road Library - Young Adult Fiction|Y FICTION (D)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MTR||
itype_aacpl Young Adult Fiction
last_indexed 2019-04-21T08:40:50.524Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl Y FICTION (D)
local_time_since_added_aacpl Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Brooklyn Park Library, Edgewater Library, Glen Burnie Library, Linthicum Library, Maryland City at Russett Library, Mountain Road Library, Odenton Library, Riviera Beach Library
primary_isbn 9781524738327
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1540770|Book|Books||English|Philomel Books,|[2018]|356 pages ; 24 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1540770 31997101796076 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1540770 31997101796050 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1540770 31997101796043 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1540770 31997101796068 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1540770 31997101796035 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1540770 31997101796027 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1540770 31997101796001 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1540770 31997101796019 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Rise of the Empress
series_with_volume Rise of the Empress|2
subject_facet Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Magic -- Fiction, Princesses -- Fiction, Voyages and travels -- Fiction
title_display Kingdom of the blazing phoenix
title_full Kingdom of the blazing phoenix / Julie C. Dao
title_short Kingdom of the blazing phoenix
topic_facet Fantasy, Magic, Princesses, Voyages and travels