What set me free: a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Atria Paperback,
Pub. Date:
2019.
Edition:
First Atria paperback edition.
Language:
English
Description
Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story--that inspired the major motion picture Brian Banks --of a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL. At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal--and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded by darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, he made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to rebuild his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy , I Beat the Odds , and Infinite Hope , this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781982121310
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd05788a3-4bfc-6a6d-ac40-bdafe2395185
Grouping Titlewhat set me free a true story of wrongful conviction a dream deferred and a man redeemed
Grouping Authorbanks brian
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-03 04:11:38AM
Last Indexed2019-12-13 04:16:37AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Dagostino, Mark,
authorBanks, Brian, 1985-
author2-roleDagostino, Mark,author.
author_displayBanks, Brian
available_at_aacplAnnapolis Mall
Broadneck Library
Brooklyn Park Library
Crofton Library
Edgewater Library
Odenton Library
Riviera Beach Library
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Nonfiction
Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction
Crofton Library - Nonfiction
Discoveries: the Library at the Mall - Nonfiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction
Edgewater Library - Nonfiction
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
Riviera Beach Library - Nonfiction
Severn Library - Nonfiction
Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_description"The unforgettable and inspiring true story of Brian Banks, whose youth was shattered by a miscarriage of justice, yet who still found a way to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL."--Back cover. At sixteen Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player; by his seventeenth birthday he was in jail awaiting trial for a crime he did not commit. As a young black man accused of rape, he was advised to take a plea deal-- and was sentenced to six years in prison. Banks made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. Emerging from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he set out to prove his innocence. As his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth came out and he was exonerated. At age twenty-eight, Banks made true his dream to play for the NFL. -- adapted from back cover
format_aacplBook
format_category_aacplBooks
idd05788a3-4bfc-6a6d-ac40-bdafe2395185
isbn9781982121310
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a162228031997096583224Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 07, 2019BPK
ils:a162228031997096583257Riviera Beach Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 15, 2019RIV
ils:a162228031997096583273Discoveries: the Library at the Mall - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfMALL
ils:a162228031997096583232Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseChecked OutDec 02, 2019EAN
ils:a162228031997096583265Severn Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseChecked OutDec 02, 2019PRO
ils:a162228031997096583174Odenton Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 01, 2019WCO
ils:a162228031997096583240Severna Park Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 03, 2019S-PK
ils:a162228031997096583190Broadneck Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 17, 2019BDN
ils:a162228031997096583216Crofton Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 28, 2019CRO
ils:a162228031997096583208Edgewater Library - Nonfiction921 BANKS1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 04, 2019EDG
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
last_indexed2019-12-13T09:16:37.219Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl921 BANKS
local_time_since_added_aacplSix Months
Year
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacplAnnapolis Mall
Broadneck Library
Brooklyn Park Library
Crofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Edgewater Library
Odenton Library
Riviera Beach Library
Severn Library
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9781982121310
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1622280BookBooksFirst Atria paperback edition.EnglishAtria Paperback, 2019.312 pages ; 22 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a162228031997096583224On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583257On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583273On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583232Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583265Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583174On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583240On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583190On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583216On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a162228031997096583208On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAutobiographies
Banks, Brian, -- 1985-
False arrest
Football players -- Biography
Judicial error
Professional athletes -- Biography
title_displayWhat set me free : a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed
title_fullWhat set me free : a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed / Brian Banks with Mark Dagostino
title_shortWhat set me free
title_suba true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed
topic_facetBanks, Brian
False arrest
Football players
Judicial error
Professional athletes