We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

These shallow graves

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 4.7 - AR Pts: 19
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 630L
Description
From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution , comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth. Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon--like all the girls in her class--she''ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer--a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly. Wild aspirations aside, Jo''s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City''s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun. The more Jo hears about her father''s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo''s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie--a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father''s newspaper--and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop. The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all. Praise for These Shallow Graves : " These Shallow Graves delivered all that I adore: lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting . I devoured this book!"-Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy " An intelligent, personable heroine -Jo Montfort''s hopes for an enlightened future uncover a dark past, resulting in a splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York."-Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven " A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller that plunges its intrepid investigative-journalist heroine into the sordid underworld of nineteenth-century New York City and into her own family''s dark secrets."-Julie Berry, award-winning author of All the Truth That''s In Me "Jo Montfort is a gutsy modern heroine in a beguiling tale of old New York . Money, murder, betrayal, and family secrets....I loved spending time in this world!"-Elizabeth Ross, author of William C. Morris Award finalist Belle Epoque [ STAR ] "Fast-paced and thrilling... a smart, insightful, timely depiction of a young woman poised on the brink of a new world after the shattering of another."- Booklist , Starred [ STAR ] " Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery ...[and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant."- Publishers Weekly , Starred [ STAR ] "A riveting historical mystery-thriller...[that] succeeds as a wonderfully paced thriller, a heart-pounding romance and an unflinching look at the hard choices one young woman must make when society disparages her dreams."- Shelf Awareness , Starred " A beautifully written mystery. "- School Library Journal "[A] fast-paced thriller...the story races to its surprising conclusion ."- Kirkus Reviews " A heroine you can''t help cheering on. "- The Horn Book From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780385906791
9780385737654
9780307982919
9781101916278
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.7, 19 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 630L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd0f70e38-a6b5-a2b0-7b8d-924929b39c05
Grouping Titlethese shallow graves
Grouping Authorjennifer donnelly
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-27 04:45:20AM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 04:44:34AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value19
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.7
authorJennifer Donnelly
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayDonnelly, Jennifer
available_at_aacplEastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Linthicum Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
YA
detailed_location_aacplEastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Young Adult Fiction
Linthicum Library - Young Adult Fiction
Odenton Library - Young Adult Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionA young woman in nineteenth-century New York City must struggle against gender and class boundaries when her father is found dead of a supposed suicide, and she believes there is more than meets the eye, so in order to uncover the truth she will have to decide how much she is willing to risk and lose.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idd0f70e38-a6b5-a2b0-7b8d-924929b39c05
isbn9780307982919
9780385737654
9780385906791
9781101916278
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:ded907b5-82ba-4d8b-ab81-af535025b269-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:ded907b5-82ba-4d8b-ab81-af535025b2691Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14869051486905-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-g8835z9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:471f6fa6-bad7-4158-ae99-396986efd9f21Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a123812831997094372117Odenton Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 26, 2020WCO
ils:a123812831997094372075Linthicum Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 20, 2019LIN
ils:a123812831997094372091Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Young Adult FictionY FICTION (D)1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 13, 2019EAN
itype_aacplElectronic Book
Young Adult Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-26T08:44:34.575Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score630
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
Y FICTION (D)
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplEastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Linthicum Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780385906791
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1486905eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2015.496 p.
overdrive:ded907b5-82ba-4d8b-ab81-af535025b269eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2015
external_econtent:ils:a1486905eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2015.496 p.
overdrive:471f6fa6-bad7-4158-ae99-396986efd9f2eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2015
ils:a1238128BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishDelacorte Press, 2015.487 pages : map ; 24 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:ded907b5-82ba-4d8b-ab81-af535025b269-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:ded907b5-82ba-4d8b-ab81-af535025b2691Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14869051486905-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:471f6fa6-bad7-4158-ae99-396986efd9f21Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a123812831997094372117On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a123812831997094372075On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a123812831997094372091On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facet
Death -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Fathers and daughters -- Fiction
Girls & Women -- YOUNG ADULT FICTION
Historical fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mysteries & Detective Stories -- YOUNG ADULT FICTION
New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 19th century -- Fiction
Sex role -- Fiction
Social classes -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Thrillers & Suspense -- YOUNG ADULT FICTION
Thrillers (Fiction)
Young adult fiction
title_displayThese shallow graves
title_fullThese Shallow Graves
These Shallow Graves [eBook] Donnelly, Jennifer.
These shallow graves / Jennifer Donnelly
title_shortThese shallow graves
topic_facetDeath
Fathers and daughters
Girls & Women
Historical Fiction
History
Investigation
Murder
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Mystery
Sex role
Social classes
Teenage girls
Thriller
Thrillers & Suspense
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature