Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The sleepwalker's guide to dancing: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE BOSTON GLOBE, KIRKUS REVIEWS, BUSTLE, AND EMILY GOULD, THE MILLIONS For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri comes a winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its past.   With depth, heart, and agility, debut novelist Mira Jacob takes us on a deftly plotted journey that ranges from 1970s India to suburban 1980s New Mexico to Seattle during the dot.com boom. The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing is an epic, irreverent testimony to the bonds of love, the pull of hope, and the power of making peace with life's uncertainties.   Celebrated brain surgeon Thomas Eapen has been sitting on his porch, talking to dead relatives. At least that is the story his wife, Kamala, prone to exaggeration, tells their daughter, Amina, a photographer living in Seattle.   Reluctantly Amina returns home and finds a situation that is far more complicated than her mother let on, with roots in a trip the family, including Amina's rebellious brother Akhil, took to India twenty years earlier. Confronted by Thomas's unwillingness to explain himself, strange looks from the hospital staff, and a series of puzzling items buried in her mother's garden, Amina soon realizes that the only way she can help her father is by coming to terms with her family's painful past. In doing so, she must reckon with the ghosts that haunt all of the Eapens.   Praise for The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing   "With wit and a rich understanding of human foibles, Jacob unspools a story that will touch your heart." --People   "Optimistic, unpretentious and refreshingly witty." --Associated Press   "By turns hilarious and tender and always attuned to shifts of emotion . . . [Jacob's] characters shimmer with life. "-- Entertainment Weekly   "A rich, engrossing debut told with lightness and care." -- The Kansas City Star   "[A] sprawling, poignant, often humorous novel . . . Told with humor and sympathy for its characters, the book serves as a bittersweet lesson in the binding power of family, even when we seek to break out from it." -- O: The Oprah Magazine   "Moving forward and back in time, Jacob balances comedy and romance with indelible sorrow. . . . When her plot springs surprises, she lets them happen just as they do in life: blindsidingly right in the middle of things." --The Boston Globe   "This is an effortlessly gorgeous and rich book. Its prose is lovely and precise, alternately luminous and direct; its observations of people and families and the physical world are poignant and a delight. The dialogue is sharp, funny, and true. This is a triumphant debut!" --Jonathan Ames, author of Wake Up, Sir!   "Comparisons of Jacob to Jhumpa Lahiri are inevitab≤ . . . both write with naked honesty about the uneasy generational divide among Indians in America and about family in all its permutations." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812994780
9780804193269
9780812994797
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd2da9e12-423e-58c2-b46a-2e649056760f
Grouping Titlesleepwalkers guide to dancing
Grouping Authormira jacob
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-29 14:03:17PM
Last Indexed2020-11-29 14:03:44PM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780812994780

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMira Jacob
author_displayJacob, Mira
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Adult Fiction
Glen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_descriptionDecades after an interrupted visit to his mother's home in 1979 India triggers a haunting series of events, brain surgeon Thomas Eapen begins having conversations with his dead relatives, prompting his career-beleaguered wife to investigate a painful family history.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idd2da9e12-423e-58c2-b46a-2e649056760f
isbn9780804193269
9780812994780
9780812994797
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e01Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:e4d31b5f-5b0f-4169-b6ca-4e1e53241f1e1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:e4d31b5f-5b0f-4169-b6ca-4e1e53241f1e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:a109220331997088662135Glen Burnie Library - Adult FictionFICTION (J)1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 23, 2020NCO
ils:a109220331997096095997Broadneck Library - Adult FictionFICTION (J)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 14, 2020BDN
ils:a109220331997096095989Severna Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (J)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 15, 2019S-PK
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
last_indexed2020-11-29T19:03:44.763Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplFICTION (J)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780812994780
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e0eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
overdrive:e4d31b5f-5b0f-4169-b6ca-4e1e53241f1eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
ils:a1092203BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2014]502 pages ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e0-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e01Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e4d31b5f-5b0f-4169-b6ca-4e1e53241f1e1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e4d31b5f-5b0f-4169-b6ca-4e1e53241f1e-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:a109220331997088662135On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a109220331997096095997On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a109220331997096095989On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetDomestic fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Occult fiction
Surgeons -- Fiction
title_displayThe sleepwalker's guide to dancing : a novel
title_fullThe Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing A Novel
The sleepwalker's guide to dancing : a novel / Mira Jacob
title_shortThe sleepwalker's guide to dancing
title_suba novel
topic_facetFamily secrets
Fiction
Literature
Surgeons