Returned items are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not applied while items are in quarantine.

Broken strings

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Puffin Books,
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 4.8 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
700L
Description
A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's Suitcase . It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her junior high, she auditions for the lead role in Fiddler on the Roof , but is crushed to learn that she's been given the part of the old Jewish mother in the musical rather than the coveted part of the sister. But there is an upside: her "husband" is none other than Ben Morgan, the cutest and most popular boy in the school. Deciding to throw herself into the role, she rummages in her grandfather's attic for some props. There, she discovers an old violin in the corner -- strange, since her Zayde has never seemed to like music, never even going to any of her recitals. Showing it to her grandfather unleashes an anger in him she has never seen before, and while she is frightened of what it might mean, Shirli keeps trying to connect with her Zayde and discover the awful reason behind his anger. A long-kept family secret spills out, and Shirli learns the true power of music, both terrible and wonderful.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780735266247
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.8, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
700L
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd4d7e565-0383-a674-4f58-3483fc25191d
Grouping Titlebroken strings
Grouping Authorwalters eric
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-07-07 04:23:03AM
Last Indexed2020-07-08 04:24:19AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value9
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.8
auth_author2Kacer, Kathy, 1954-
authorWalters, Eric, 1957-
author2-roleKacer, Kathy,1954-author.
author_displayWalters, Eric
available_at_aacplCrofton Library
Mountain Road Library
Odenton Library
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplJUVENILE
detailed_location_aacplCrofton Library - Children's Fiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Children's Fiction
Glen Burnie Library - Children's Fiction
Mountain Road Library - Children's Fiction
Odenton Library - Children's Fiction
Severna Park Library - Children's Fiction
display_descriptionA violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's Suitcase. It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved grandmother -- Shirli Berman is intent on moving forward. The best singer in her junior high, she auditions for the lead role in Fiddler on the Roof, but is crushed to learn that she's been given the part of the old Jewish mother in the musical rather than the coveted part of the sister. But there is an upside: her "husband" is none other than Ben Morgan, the cutest and most popular boy in the school. Deciding to throw herself into the role, she rummages in her grandfather's attic for some props. There, she discovers an old violin in the corner -- strange, since her Zayde has never seemed to like music, never even going to any of her recitals. Showing it to her grandfather unleashes an anger in him she has never seen before, and while she is frightened of what it might mean, Shirli keeps trying to connect with her Zayde and discover the awful reason behind his anger. A long-kept family secret spills out, and Shirli learns the true power of music, both terrible and wonderful.
format_aacplBook
format_category_aacplBooks
idd4d7e565-0383-a674-4f58-3483fc25191d
isbn9780735266247
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a163518331997300196409Severna Park Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 05, 2019S-PK
ils:a163518331997300317955Crofton Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 17, 2020CRO
ils:a163518331997300196391Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseChecked OutMar 06, 2020EAN
ils:a163518331997300196425Glen Burnie Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseChecked OutJun 23, 2020NCO
ils:a163518331997300196383Odenton Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 10, 2020WCO
ils:a163518331997300196417Mountain Road Library - Children's FictionJ FICTION (W)1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 05, 2019MTR
itype_aacplChildren's Fiction
last_indexed2020-07-08T08:24:19.242Z
lexile_score700
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplJ FICTION (W)
local_time_since_added_aacplYear
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacplCrofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Mountain Road Library
Odenton Library
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780735266247
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1635183BookBooksEnglishPuffin Books, 2019.282 pages ; 22 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a163518331997300196409On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a163518331997300317955On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a163518331997300196391Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a163518331997300196425Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a163518331997300196383On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a163518331997300196417On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetActing -- Juvenile fiction
Actors and actresses -- Fiction
Holocaust survivors' families -- Juvenile fiction
Jews -- United States -- Juvenile fiction
Musicals -- Juvenile fiction
Secrecy -- Juvenile fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Violin -- Fiction
Violin -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayBroken strings
title_fullBroken strings / Eric Walters and Kathy Kacer
title_shortBroken strings
topic_facetActing
Actors and actresses
Holocaust survivors' families
Jews
Musicals
Secrecy
Teenage girls
Violin