My mother's daughter: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster,
Pub. Date:
c2000.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Barbara Delinsky and Patricia Gaffney comes a wry and moving look at the friendships of four women who have reached middle age as a terrible secret threatens to destroy the bond they have built over a lifetime.

On the eve of Mary Sue Prescott's forty-fifth birthday, four childhood friends -- The Girlfriends' Club -- gather at a lakeside cabin. It's a bittersweet celebration as Mary Sue is scheduled for a mastectomy in the morning. When Mary Sue's boyfriend finally shows up, she has already gone to bed. Drunk and angry, he trips, breaks his neck, and dies. Horrified, the three other women put him in his car and send it careening into the lake.

How these women deal with their awful secret parallels their lives and relationships to this point. Pamela is at the beck and call of her rich and boorish husband. Gretchen gave up a promising career to marry an adulterous man who eventually left her for his secretary. Dixie -- also divorced -- is involved in an extended long-distance affair with a handsome but married vineyard owner; as she plays the role of the dreaded "other woman, " even her closest friends can't know.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780684837666
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID dc1cf775-c0ca-c7d1-8891-b69110963129
Grouping Title my mother s daughter
Grouping Author wall judith henry
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2017-04-06 18:56:08PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-17 04:52:21AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Wall, Judith Henry.
author_display Wall, Judith Henry
available_at_aacpl Crofton Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
display_description
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id dc1cf775-c0ca-c7d1-8891-b69110963129
isbn 9780684837666
item_details ils:a166496|31997056784390|Crofton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (W)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Dec 09, 2016|CRO||
itype_aacpl Adult General Fiction
last_indexed 2018-07-17T08:52:21.559Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl FICTION (W)
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library
primary_isbn 9780684837666
publishDate 2000
record_details ils:a166496|Book|Books||English|Simon & Schuster,|c2000.|431 p. ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a166496 31997056784390 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Domestic fiction, Mothers and daughters -- Texas -- Fiction, Sisters -- Texas -- Fiction, Texas -- Fiction
title_display My mother's daughter : a novel
title_full My mother's daughter : a novel / Judith Henry Wall
title_short My mother's daughter :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Mothers and daughters, Sisters