We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

& sons: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY"The Washington Post - The New Yorker - Esquire - The Austin Chronicle - Kansas City Star - The Guardian" (UK) "- BookPage - Flavorwire - Bookish" " A] big, brilliant novel."--"The New York Times Book Review" Who is A. N. Dyer? "& Sons" is a literary masterwork for readers of "The Art of Fielding, The Emperor's Children, "and "Wonder Boys"--the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide. The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan's Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in "The New York Times "notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel "Ampersand" stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, ""he suffers a breakdown over the life he's led and the people he's hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years--before it's too late. So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there's son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired "Ampersand." But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family. In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. "& Sons" is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality. NATIONAL BESTSELLER - A "NEW YORK TIMES "EDITORS' CHOICE "Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny."--Jess Walter, author of "Beautiful Ruins" "Extraordinary."--"Time" "Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, "& Sons"] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term 'instant classic.'"--NPR "A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . "& Sons"] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters' memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail."--Michiko Kakutani, "The New York Times"" " " A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.""--Entertainment Weekly" "This great big novel is . . . infused with warmth and wisdom about what it means to be a family."--"The Boston Globe" "Audacious . . . one of the year's] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction."--"The Washington Post"
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780812993967
9780812993974
9780385359580
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdc5e7268-be2b-909f-f008-43ce0365929e
Grouping Titleand sons
Grouping Authordavid gilbert
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-19 04:16:46AM
Last Indexed2020-09-19 04:43:42AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDavid Gilbert
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayGilbert, David
available_at_aacplEdgewater Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplEdgewater Library - Adult Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionA famous reclusive writer and his three sons find their bond tested by the weight of long-held secrets and a cumbersome legacy shaped by boarding school, Hollywood, and the elite circles of the publishing world.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
iddc5e7268-be2b-909f-f008-43ce0365929e
isbn9780385359580
9780812993967
9780812993974
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a102102131997081387623Edgewater Library - Adult FictionFICTION (G)1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 02, 2020EDG
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14958001495800-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-bwn7cr9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-09-19T08:43:42.763Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
FICTION (G)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplEdgewater Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780812993967
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1021021BookBooks1st ed.EnglishRandom House, c2013.434 p. ; 25 cm.
ils:a1495800eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2013.480 p.
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437aeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2013
external_econtent:ils:a1495800eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2013.480 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a102102131997081387623On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14958001495800-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetBildungsromans
Coming of Age -- FICTION
Electronic books
Families -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Literary -- FICTION
Rich people -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
Sagas -- FICTION
Upper East Side (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction
title_display& sons : a novel
title_full& sons : a novel / David Gilbert
And Sons A Novel
And Sons A Novel [eBook] Gilbert, David.
title_short& sons
title_subA Novel
topic_facetComing of Age
Families
Family secrets
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Rich people
Sagas