Access to Cloud Library will end after January 26, 2024, and titles from this collection will move to OverDrive/Libby. Click here for more information.

The Riviera Beach Library is currently closed.

And Sons: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Washington Post • The New Yorker • Esquire • The Austin Chronicle • Kansas City Star • The Guardian (UK) • BookPage • Flavorwire • Bookish

“[A] big, brilliant novel.”The New York Times Book Review
Who is A. N. Dyer? & Sons is a literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and Wonder Boys—the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
 
The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan’s Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in The New York Times notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel Ampersand stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, he suffers a breakdown over the life he’s led and the people he’s hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years—before it’s too late.
 
So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there’s son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired Ampersand. But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.
 
In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. & Sons is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality.
NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE
  
“Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny.”—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins
 
“Extraordinary.”Time
 
“Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, [& Sons] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term ‘instant classic.’”—NPR
 
“A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . [& Sons] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters’ memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
“[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“Audacious . . ....
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780812993974
9780385359580
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdc5e7268-be2b-909f-f008-43ce0365929e
Grouping Titleand sons
Grouping Authordavid gilbert
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-12-02 04:07:40AM
Last Indexed2023-12-02 04:36:47AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Gilbert, David
author2-role
cloudLibrary
author_display
Gilbert, David
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Washington Post • The New Yorker • Esquire • The Austin Chronicle • Kansas City Star • The Guardian (UK) • BookPage • Flavorwire • Bookish

“[A] big, brilliant novel.”The New York Times Book Review
Who is A. N. Dyer? & Sons is a literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and Wonder Boys—the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide.
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
 
The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan’s Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in The New York Times notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel Ampersand stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, he suffers a breakdown over the life he’s led and the people he’s hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years—before it’s too late.
 
So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there’s son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired Ampersand. But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.
 
In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. & Sons is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality.
NATIONAL BESTSELLER • A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE
  
“Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny.”—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins
 
“Extraordinary.”Time
 
“Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, [& Sons] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term ‘instant classic.’”—NPR
 
“A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . [& Sons] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters’ memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
“[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“Audacious . . ....
format_aacpl
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
dc5e7268-be2b-909f-f008-43ce0365929e
isbn
9780385359580
9780812993974
itype_aacpl
Electronic Book
last_indexed
2023-12-02T09:36:47.942Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780812993974
publishDate
2013
publisher
Books on Tape
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Coming of Age -- Fiction
Electronic books
Literary -- Fiction
Sagas -- Fiction
title_display
And Sons A Novel
title_full
And Sons A Novel
And Sons A Novel [eBook] Gilbert, David,
title_short
And Sons
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Coming of Age
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Sagas

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14958001495800-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-bwn7cr9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437aeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2013
external_econtent:ils:a1495800eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013480 pages

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:e056832b-a329-43a7-bb75-ac2e1e0a437a1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:109e5f20-1b1f-4207-a9ae-2ee4c093b50d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:a14958001495800-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue