The Severn Library will be closed through March 12 for renovations. It is currently unavailable as a holds pickup location.

Annapolis Library at Monarch Academy will close to the public on February 21. It is no longer available as a holds pickup location. 

 

Left: a love story

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City's Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia--perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way...

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding--but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay's worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband--her rock, her love, her everything--is succumbing to the ravages of dementia.

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay's invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can't accept.

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life's aching uncertainties--and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062678379
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe1b83d4c-5e82-4674-0783-feeaa8d73b89
Grouping Titleleft a love story
Grouping Authorhogan mary
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-01-14 04:11:33AM
Last Indexed2020-02-17 04:17:33AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorHogan, Mary, 1957-
author_displayHogan, Mary
available_at_aacplBroadneck Library
Brooklyn Park Library
Crofton Library
Edgewater Library
Linthicum Library
Odenton Library
Riviera Beach Library
Severn Library
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Adult Fiction
Brooklyn Park Library - Adult Fiction
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
Edgewater Library - Adult Fiction
Linthicum Library - Adult Fiction
Odenton Library - Adult Fiction
Riviera Beach Library - Adult Fiction
Severn Library - Adult Fiction
Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_description"It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Granada street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once they are reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding -- but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn. Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay's worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband -- her rock, her love, her everything -- is succumbing to the ravages of dementia. As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay's invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a fate she can't accept." --
format_aacplBook
format_category_aacplBooks
ide1b83d4c-5e82-4674-0783-feeaa8d73b89
isbn9780062678379
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a145288831997101865301Crofton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 03, 2018CRO
ils:a145288831997101865251Riviera Beach Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfMay 16, 2019RIV
ils:a145288831997101865517Linthicum Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 24, 2019LIN
ils:a145288831997101865269Edgewater Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 12, 2019EDG
ils:a145288831997101865277Severna Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 16, 2019S-PK
ils:a145288831997101865533Odenton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 02, 2018WCO
ils:a145288831997101865319Severn Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 07, 2020PRO
ils:a145288831997101865293Broadneck Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 05, 2019BDN
ils:a145288831997101865541Brooklyn Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (H)1falsefalseOn ShelfMar 02, 2019BPK
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
last_indexed2020-02-17T09:17:33.814Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplFICTION (H)
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Brooklyn Park Library
Crofton Library
Edgewater Library
Linthicum Library
Odenton Library
Riviera Beach Library
Severn Library
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780062678379
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1452888BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishWilliam Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]236, 5 pages ; 21 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a145288831997101865301On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865251On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865517On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865269On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865277On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865533On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865319On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865293On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a145288831997101865541On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetDementia -- Fiction
Denial (Psychology) -- Fiction
Judges -- Fiction
Love stories
Married people -- Fiction
Medical fiction
Romance fiction
title_displayLeft : a love story
title_fullLeft : a love story / Mary Hogan
title_shortLeft
title_suba love story
topic_facetDementia
Denial (Psychology)
Judges
Married people