Please check the Menu tab on the left for links to our other resources such as Kanopy, Lynda.com, and Rosetta Stone.

Left: a love story

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City's Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia--perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way...

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding--but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay's worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband--her rock, her love, her everything--is succumbing to the ravages of dementia.

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay's invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can't accept.

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life's aching uncertainties--and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
006267837
9780062678379
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e1b83d4c-5e82-4674-0783-feeaa8d73b89
Grouping Title left a love story
Grouping Author hogan mary
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-17 05:15:22AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-18 04:45:32AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hogan, Mary, 1957-
author_display Hogan, Mary
available_at_aacpl Crofton Library, Edgewater Library, Odenton Library, Riviera Beach Library, Severn Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Adult Fiction, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction, Edgewater Library - Adult Fiction, Maryland City at Russett Library - Adult Fiction, Odenton Library - Adult Fiction, Riviera Beach Library - Adult Fiction, Severn Library - Adult Fiction, Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_description "It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Granada street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once they are reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding -- but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn. Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay's worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband -- her rock, her love, her everything -- is succumbing to the ravages of dementia. As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay's invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a fate she can't accept." --
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id e1b83d4c-5e82-4674-0783-feeaa8d73b89
isbn 006267837, 9780062678379
item_details ils:a1452888|31997101865251|Riviera Beach Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 15, 2018|RIV||, ils:a1452888|31997101865269|Edgewater Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 03, 2018|EDG||, ils:a1452888|31997101865277|Maryland City at Russett Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Nov 14, 2018|MDC||, ils:a1452888|31997101865285|Riviera Beach Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 15, 2018|RIV||, ils:a1452888|31997101865293|Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Oct 31, 2018|EAN||, ils:a1452888|31997101865301|Crofton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Nov 07, 2018|CRO||, ils:a1452888|31997101865319|Severn Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 14, 2018|PRO||, ils:a1452888|31997101865517|Crofton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Oct 12, 2018|CRO||, ils:a1452888|31997101865525|Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Nov 14, 2018|S-PK||, ils:a1452888|31997101865533|Odenton Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 02, 2018|WCO||, ils:a1452888|31997101865541|Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction|FICTION (H)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|Nov 07, 2018|S-PK||
itype_aacpl Adult General Fiction
last_indexed 2018-11-18T09:45:32.151Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl FICTION (H)
local_time_since_added_aacpl Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library, Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library, Edgewater Library, Maryland City at Russett Library, Odenton Library, Riviera Beach Library, Severn Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 006267837
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1452888|Book|Books|First edition.|English|William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|[2018]|236, 5 pages ; 21 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1452888 31997101865517 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865251 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865269 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865293 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865301 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865533 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865541 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865285 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865525 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865319 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1452888 31997101865277 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
subject_facet Dementia -- Fiction, Denial (Psychology) -- Fiction, Judges -- Fiction, Love stories, Married people -- Fiction, Medical fiction, Romance fiction
title_display Left : a love story
title_full Left : a love story / Mary Hogan
title_short Left :
title_sub a love story
topic_facet Dementia, Denial (Psychology), Judges, Married people