The Riviera Beach Library is currently closed.

Sleeping Giants

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
NoveList Series:
Themis files volume 0001
Series:
Themis files volume 0001
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?
Praise for Sleeping Giants

“As high-concept as it is, Sleeping Giants is a thriller through and through. . . . One of the most promising series kickoffs in recent memory, [and] a smart demonstration of how science fiction can honor its traditions and reverse-engineer them at the same time.”—NPR
“Neuvel weaves a complex tapestry with ancient machinery buried in the Earth, shadow governments, and geopolitical conflicts. But the most surprising thing about the book may just be how compelling the central characters are in the midst of these larger-than-life concepts. . . . I can’t stop thinking about it.”Chicago Review of Books

“A remarkable debut . . . Reminiscent of Max Brooks’s World War Z, the story’s format effectively builds suspense.”Library Journal (debut of the month)
“This stellar debut novel . . . masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction. . . . A page-turner of the highest order.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Don’t miss any of The Themis Files by Sylvain Neuvel:
SLEEPING GIANTS | WAKING GODS | ONLY HUMAN
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780147522634
9781101886700
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe5eb6aab-ae63-674f-bcdc-51704420d9ee
Grouping Titlesleeping giants
Grouping Authorsylvain neuvel
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2024-02-25 18:52:03PM
Last Indexed2024-02-25 18:53:57PM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Neuvel, Sylvain
author_display
Neuvel, Sylvain
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.
A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?
Praise for Sleeping Giants

“As high-concept as it is, Sleeping Giants is a thriller through and through. . . . One of the most promising series kickoffs in recent memory, [and] a smart demonstration of how science fiction can honor its traditions and reverse-engineer them at the same time.”—NPR
“Neuvel weaves a complex tapestry with ancient machinery buried in the Earth, shadow governments, and geopolitical conflicts. But the most surprising thing about the book may just be how compelling the central characters are in the midst of these larger-than-life concepts. . . . I can’t stop thinking about it.”Chicago Review of Books

“A remarkable debut . . . Reminiscent of Max Brooks’s World War Z, the story’s format effectively builds suspense.”Library Journal (debut of the month)
“This stellar debut novel . . . masterfully blends together elements of sci-fi, political thriller and apocalyptic fiction. . . . A page-turner of the highest order.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Don’t miss any of The Themis Files by Sylvain Neuvel:
SLEEPING GIANTS | WAKING GODS | ONLY HUMAN
format_aacpl
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacpl
Audio Books
eBook
id
e5eb6aab-ae63-674f-bcdc-51704420d9ee
isbn
9780147522634
9781101886700
last_indexed
2024-02-25T23:53:57.877Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780147522634
publishDate
2016
publisher
Books on Tape
Random House Worlds
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Themis files
series_with_volume
Themis files|0001
title_display
Sleeping Giants
title_full
Sleeping Giants
title_short
Sleeping Giants
topic_facet
Fiction
Science Fiction
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:b0f357c4-f8d2-4aa2-b1f0-a70c439b9602-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:b0f357c4-f8d2-4aa2-b1f0-a70c439b96021Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:dd2e0695-42ac-4b0a-9e8e-3a36a5f4d905-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:dd2e0695-42ac-4b0a-9e8e-3a36a5f4d9051Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books4falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:b0f357c4-f8d2-4aa2-b1f0-a70c439b9602eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Worlds2016
overdrive:dd2e0695-42ac-4b0a-9e8e-3a36a5f4d905eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2016

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b0f357c4-f8d2-4aa2-b1f0-a70c439b9602-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:b0f357c4-f8d2-4aa2-b1f0-a70c439b96021Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:dd2e0695-42ac-4b0a-9e8e-3a36a5f4d905-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:dd2e0695-42ac-4b0a-9e8e-3a36a5f4d9051Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue