Terminal alliance

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
DAW Books,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Language:
English
Description
In his hilarious new sci-fi series, Jim C. Hines introduces the unlikely heroes that may just save the galaxy: a crew of space janitors. The Krakau came to Earth to invite humanity into a growing alliance of sentient species. However, they happened to arrive after a mutated plague wiped out half the planet, turned the rest into shambling, near-unstoppable animals, and basically destroyed human civilization. You know--your standard apocalypse. The Krakau's first impulse was to turn around and go home. (After all, it's hard to have diplomatic relations with mindless savages who eat your diplomats.) Their second impulse was to try to fix us. Now, a century later, human beings might not be what they once were, but at least they're no longer trying to eat everyone. Mostly. Marion "Mops" Adamopoulos is surprisingly bright (for a human). As a Lieutenant on the Earth Mercenary Corps Ship Pufferfish, she's in charge of the Shipboard Hygiene and Sanitation team. When a bioweapon attack wipes out the Krakau command crew and reverts the rest of the humans to their feral state, only Mops and her team are left with their minds intact. Escaping the attacking aliens--not to mention her shambling crewmates--is only the beginning. Sure, Mops and her team of space janitors and plumbers can clean the ship as well as anyone, but flying the damn thing is another matter. As they struggle to keep the Pufferfish functioning and find a cure for their crew, they stumble onto a conspiracy that could threaten the entire alliance... a conspiracy born from the truth of what happened on Earth all those years ago. Jim C. Hines has proven himself a master of humorous fantasy with his Jig the Goblin novels, and has turned the usual fantasy tropes sideways and upside down with his Princess and his Magic Ex Libris series. With Terminal Alliance , the debut novel in his humorous military science fiction series, Jim takes us into a brand-new universe of entertainment certain to appeal to fans of both Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780756412753
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e6221ce9-cf44-4293-32e1-a33d63f3d99d
Grouping Title terminal alliance
Grouping Author hines jim c
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-19 04:46:42AM
Last Indexed 2019-05-25 05:07:56AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hines, Jim C.,
author_display Hines, Jim C
available_at_aacpl Crofton Library, Edgewater Library, Glen Burnie Library, Severn Library
collection_aacpl ADULT
detailed_location_aacpl Crofton Library - Paperback Fiction, Edgewater Library - Paperback Fiction, Glen Burnie Library - Paperback Fiction, Severn Library - Paperback Fiction, Severna Park Library - Paperback Fiction
display_description The Krakau came to Earth to invite humanity into a growing alliance of sentient species. However, they happened to arrive after a mutated plague wiped out half the planet, turned the rest into shambling, near-unstoppable animals, and basically destroyed human civilization. You know--your standard apocalypse. The Krakau's first impulse was to turn around and go home. (After all, it's hard to have diplomatic relations with mindless savages who eat your diplomats.) Their second impulse was to try to fix us. Now, a century later, human beings might not be what they once were, but at least they're no longer trying to eat everyone. Mostly. Marion "Mops" Adamopoulos is surprisingly bright (for a human). As a Lieutenant on the Earth Mercenary Corps Ship Pufferfish, she's in charge of the Shipboard Hygiene and Sanitation team. When a bioweapon attack wipes out the Krakau command crew and reverts the rest of the humans to their feral state, only Mops and her team are left with their minds intact. Escaping the attacking aliens--not to mention her shambling crewmates--is only the beginning. Sure, Mops and her team of space janitors and plumbers can clean the ship as well as anyone, but flying the damn thing is another matter. As they struggle to keep the Pufferfish functioning and find a cure for their crew, they stumble onto a conspiracy that could threaten the entire alliance... a conspiracy born from the truth of what happened on Earth all those years ago.
format_aacpl Book
format_category_aacpl Books
id e6221ce9-cf44-4293-32e1-a33d63f3d99d
isbn 9780756412753
item_details ils:a1547334|31997101788479|Severn Library - Paperback Fiction|SF (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 19, 2019|PRO||, ils:a1547334|31997101788487|Severna Park Library - Paperback Fiction|SF (H)|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out|May 10, 2019|S-PK||, ils:a1547334|31997101788495|Crofton Library - Paperback Fiction|SF (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Mar 04, 2019|CRO||, ils:a1547334|31997101788503|Glen Burnie Library - Paperback Fiction|SF (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|May 11, 2019|NCO||, ils:a1547334|31997101788511|Edgewater Library - Paperback Fiction|SF (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Feb 02, 2019|EDG||, ils:a1547334|31997101788529|Severn Library - Paperback Fiction|SF (H)|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Apr 15, 2019|PRO||
itype_aacpl Science Fiction Paperback
last_indexed 2019-05-25T09:07:56.723Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Other
literary_form_full Other
local_callnumber_aacpl SF (H)
local_time_since_added_aacpl Six Months, Year
owning_library_aacpl Anne Arundel County Public Library
owning_location_aacpl Crofton Library, Edgewater Library, Glen Burnie Library, Severn Library, Severna Park Library
primary_isbn 9780756412753
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:a1547334|Book|Books||English|DAW Books,|[2018]|viii, 389 pages ; 18 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a1547334 31997101788511 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1547334 31997101788503 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1547334 31997101788479 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1547334 31997101788487 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:a1547334 31997101788495 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:a1547334 31997101788529 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
series Janitors of the post-apocalypse
series_with_volume Janitors of the post-apocalypse|1
subject_facet Biological weapons -- Fiction, Conspiracies -- Fiction, Human-alien encounters -- Fiction, Sanitation workers -- Fiction, Science fiction
title_display Terminal alliance
title_full Terminal alliance [mass market] / Jim C. Hines
title_short Terminal alliance
topic_facet Biological weapons, Conspiracies, Human-alien encounters, Sanitation workers