All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn on library property by anyone over the age of two regardless of vaccine status.

Cut me loose: sin and salvation after my ultra-Orthodox girlhood

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, a fundamentalist sect of ultra-Orthodox Judaism. As the daughter of an influential rabbi, Leah and her ten siblings were raised to worship two things: God and the men who ruled their world. But the tradition-bound future Leah envisioned for herself was cut short when, at sixteen, she was caught exchanging letters with a male friend, a violation of religious law that forbids contact between members of the opposite sex. Leah's parents were unforgiving. Afraid, in part, that her behavior would affect the marriage prospects of their other children, they put her on a plane and cut off ties. Cast out in New York City, without a father or husband tethering her to the Orthodox community, Leah was unprepared to navigate the freedoms of secular life. She spent the next few years using her sexuality as a way of attracting the male approval she had been conditioned to seek out as a child, while becoming increasingly unfaithful to the religious dogma of her past. Fast-paced, mesmerizing, and brutally honest, Cut Me Loose tells the story of one woman's harrowing struggle to define herself as an individual. Through Leah's eyes, we confront not only the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism, but also the broader issues that face even the most secular young women as they grapple with sexuality and identity.From the Hardcover edition.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385538091
9780385538107
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe6b02850-9729-e7a9-bffa-cd81a4ea7fc5
Grouping Titlecut me loose sin and salvation after my ultra orthodox girlhood
Grouping Authorleah vincent
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-04-20 04:15:49AM
Last Indexed2021-04-20 04:46:13AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385538091

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorVincent, Leah.
author_displayVincent, Leah
available_at_aacplCrofton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
detailed_location_aacplCrofton Library - Nonfiction
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self-destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, a fundamentalist sect of ultra-Orthodox Judaism. As the daughter of an influential rabbi, Leah and her ten siblings were raised to worship two things: God and the men who ruled their world. But the tradition-bound future Leah envisioned for herself was cut short when, at sixteen, she was caught exchanging letters with a male friend, a violation of religious law that forbids contact between members of the opposite sex. Leah's parents were unforgiving. Afraid, in part, that her behavior would affect the marriage prospects of their other children, they put her on a plane and cut off ties. Cast out in New York City, without a father or husband tethering her to the Orthodox community, Leah was unprepared to navigate the freedoms of secular life. She spent the next few years using her sexuality as a way of attracting the male approval she had been conditioned to seek out as a child, while becoming increasingly unfaithful to the religious dogma of her past. Fast-paced, mesmerizing, and brutally honest, Cut Me Loose tells the story of one woman's harrowing struggle to define herself as an individual. Through Leah's eyes, we confront not only the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism, but also the broader issues that face even the most secular young women as they grapple with sexuality and identity.

From the Hardcover edition.

format_aacplBook
eBook
format_category_aacplBooks
eBook
ide6b02850-9729-e7a9-bffa-cd81a4ea7fc5
isbn9780385538091
9780385538107
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:7dbc6785-d7f3-4b2c-a0bc-e0c0690d9fe5-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook6falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:7dbc6785-d7f3-4b2c-a0bc-e0c0690d9fe51Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:a106436031997079731428Crofton Library - Nonfiction921 VINCENT1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 24, 2020CRO
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
last_indexed2021-04-20T08:46:13.053Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl921 VINCENT
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplCrofton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780385538091
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:7dbc6785-d7f3-4b2c-a0bc-e0c0690d9fe5eBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2014
ils:a1064360BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishNan A. Talese/Doubleday, [2014]viii, 228 pages ; 22 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:7dbc6785-d7f3-4b2c-a0bc-e0c0690d9fe5-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:7dbc6785-d7f3-4b2c-a0bc-e0c0690d9fe51Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a106436031997079731428On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetJewish women -- New York (State) -- New York -- Biography
Ultra-Orthodox Jews -- New York (State) -- New York -- Biography
Vincent, Leah
title_displayCut me loose : sin and salvation after my ultra-Orthodox girlhood
title_fullCut Me Loose Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood
Cut me loose : sin and salvation after my ultra-Orthodox girlhood / Leah Vincent
title_shortCut me loose
title_subsin and salvation after my ultra-Orthodox girlhood
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Jewish women
Nonfiction
Psychology
Religion & Spirituality
Ultra-Orthodox Jews
Vincent, Leah