Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

The Virgin's Daughter

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Series:
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2015
Language:
English
Description
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin’s Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir?   Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She’s made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel’s very life and the security of the nation in peril. Only those closest to Elizabeth—her longtime confidante Minuette, her advisor and friend Dominic, and the couple’s grown children—can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet, all of the queen’s maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing. Praise for The Virgin’s Daughter   “Thrilling . . . [Laura Andersen’s] characters are well imagined and consistent, especially the Tudor siblings. . . . [The Virgin’s Daughter] balances action and plot with emotion and character development. . . . One of the best things about alternative history is that you don’t know what will happen next, and Andersen takes full advantage of that fact.”—The Roanoke Times   “The plot includes many threads, yet they are weaved together flawlessly. Andersen brilliantly blends the history and historical characters we know into her wondrous new world.”—RT Book Reviews   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780804179379
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDea8003cf-eea8-39ab-d132-f99b1e9688e3
Grouping Titlevirgins daughter
Grouping Authorlaura andersen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-01-28 04:07:44AM
Last Indexed2023-01-28 05:16:15AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Andersen, Laura
author2-role
cloudLibrary
author_display
Andersen, Laura
available_at_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacpl
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Virgin’s Daughter is the first book in a captivating new saga about the next generation of Tudor royals, which poses the thrilling question: What if Elizabeth I, the celebrated Virgin Queen, gave birth to a legitimate heir?   Since the death of her brother, William, Elizabeth I has ruled England. She’s made the necessary alliances, married Philip of Spain, and produced a successor: her only daughter, Anne Isabella, Princess of Wales. Elizabeth knows that her beloved Anabel will be a political pawn across Europe unless she can convince Philip to grant her a divorce, freeing him to remarry and give Spain its own heir. But the enemies of England have even greater plans for the princess, a plot that will put Anabel’s very life and the security of the nation in peril. Only those closest to Elizabeth—her longtime confidante Minuette, her advisor and friend Dominic, and the couple’s grown children—can be trusted to carry forth a most delicate and dangerous mission. Yet, all of the queen’s maneuverings may ultimately prove her undoing. Praise for The Virgin’s Daughter   “Thrilling . . . [Laura Andersen’s] characters are well imagined and consistent, especially the Tudor siblings. . . . [The Virgin’s Daughter] balances action and plot with emotion and character development. . . . One of the best things about alternative history is that you don’t know what will happen next, and Andersen takes full advantage of that fact.”—The Roanoke Times   “The plot includes many threads, yet they are weaved together flawlessly. Andersen brilliantly blends the history and historical characters we know into her wondrous new world.”—RT Book Reviews   Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. From the Trade Paperback edition.
format_aacpl
eBook
format_category_aacpl
eBook
id
ea8003cf-eea8-39ab-d132-f99b1e9688e3
isbn
9780804179379
itype_aacpl
Electronic Book
last_indexed
2023-01-28T10:16:15.124Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl
CLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacpl
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacpl
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780804179379
publishDate
2015
publisher
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Tudor legacy novels
series_with_volume
Tudor legacy novels|1
subject_facet
Electronic books
Historical -- Fiction
Historical -- Romance
Sagas -- Fiction
title_display
The Virgin's Daughter
title_full
The Virgin's Daughter
The Virgin's Daughter A Tudor Legacy Novel [eBook] Andersen, Laura,
title_short
The Virgin's Daughter
topic_facet
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Literature
Romance
Sagas

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:d2bfe604-d347-4de5-8c80-f7b0fb3e4c361Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14849661484966-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-fhmeuz9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d2bfe604-d347-4de5-8c80-f7b0fb3e4c36eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
external_econtent:ils:a1484966eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015368 pages

scoping_details_aacpl

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d2bfe604-d347-4de5-8c80-f7b0fb3e4c361Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14849661484966-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue