In-building appointments will be available beginning March 1. Contactless curbside pickup will continue.
Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The Mill River recluse: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"The sensational New York Times bestseller, The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River--including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest--who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only thepriest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated--and that, once revealed, will forever change the community. Praise for The Mill River Recluse "[Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent. A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."--Kirkus Reviews "A heartwarming story."--Examiner.com "A real page-turner."--IndieReader"--
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553391879
9780615523774
9781410472090
9780553398106
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf07094b6-966d-e428-a0af-3eb7cb40563a
Grouping Titlemill river recluse
Grouping Authordarcie chan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-02-24 04:16:32AM
Last Indexed2021-02-24 04:44:29AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553391879

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Rubinate, Amy.
authorChan, Darcie.
author2-roleBooks on Tape, Inc.
Rubinate, Amy.|Narrator
cloudLibrary
author_displayChan, Darcie
available_at_aacplCrofton Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplCrofton Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
Glen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"The sensational New York Times bestseller, The Mill River Recluse reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more. From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself. But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River--including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest--who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only thepriest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated--and that, once revealed, will forever change the community. Praise for The Mill River Recluse "[Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent. A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."--Kirkus Reviews "A heartwarming story."--Examiner.com "A real page-turner."--IndieReader"--
format_aacplBook
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf07094b6-966d-e428-a0af-3eb7cb40563a
isbn9780553391879
9780553398106
9780615523774
9781410472090
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:a115734731997088132113Crofton Library - Large Print Fiction and NonfictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 03, 2019CRO
overdrive:846acbb1-277f-4afa-afe8-0b1d060413bb1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
rbdigital:rbdZ100075050rbdZ100075050RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9780553398106Available OnlineRBdigital
external_econtent:ils:a14867261486726-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-dvcef89Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
ils:a115550731997088343025Glen Burnie Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfFeb 14, 2020NCO
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
Electronic Book
Large Print
last_indexed2021-02-24T09:44:29.263Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
FICTION (C)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplCrofton Library
Glen Burnie Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780553391879
publishDate2011
2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
ils:a1157347Large PrintBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, 2014.577 p. (large print) ; 23 cm.
overdrive:846acbb1-277f-4afa-afe8-0b1d060413bbeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2014
ils:a1486726eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2011.416 p.
rbdigital:rbdZ100075050eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBooks on Tape ;2014, [2014]1 online resource (10 hr., 59 min.)
external_econtent:ils:a1486726eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2011.416 p.
ils:a1155507BookBooksBallantine Books trade paperback edition.EnglishBallantine Books Trade Paperbacks, [2014]401 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:a115734731997088132113On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:846acbb1-277f-4afa-afe8-0b1d060413bb1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14867261486726-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:a115550731997088343025On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesMill River
series_with_volumeMill River|1
subject_facetAudiobooks
Cities and towns -- Fiction
Contemporary Women -- FICTION
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
FICTION / Contemporary Women
Families -- Fiction
Family life -- Fiction
Large type books
Psychological -- FICTION
Psychological fiction
Sagas -- FICTION
Secrets -- Fiction
Widows -- Fiction
title_displayThe Mill River recluse : a novel
title_fullThe Mill River Recluse
The Mill River Recluse A Novel [eBook] Chan, Darcie.
The Mill River recluse : a novel / Darcie Chan
The Mill River recluse : a novel [large print] / Darcie Chan
The mill river recluse [electronic resource] : a novel / Darcie Chan
title_shortThe Mill River recluse
title_suba novel
topic_facetCities and towns
Contemporary Women
FICTION / Contemporary Women
Families
Family life
Fiction
Large type books
Literature
Psychological
Sagas
Secrets
Widows