All buildings are now open at limited capacity. New library and curbside pickup hours.
Masks covering the nose and mouth must be worn inside libraries by anyone over the age of two regardless of vaccine status.

Mission Flats: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2003.
Language:
English
Description
Winner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime NovelBefore the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense—perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane.   “Landay writes with eloquent intensity.”—The New York Times Book Review   By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city’s toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police—especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man—or let a guilty one go free—one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.   Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob   “A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)   “An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)   “[Landay’s] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment.”Rocky Mountain News   “Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it.”—Lee Child  
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780440334552
9781415952931
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf4cc428b-779e-afe2-eed2-87f4b0e3ba2e
Grouping Titlemission flats
Grouping Authorwilliam landay
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-05-11 04:15:49AM
Last Indexed2021-05-11 04:43:26AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385336147

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorWilliam Landay
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displayWilliam Landay
available_at_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
collection_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplOnline
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionWinner of the CWA John Creasey Memorial Dagger Award for Best First Crime Novel
Before the New York Times bestselling success of Defending Jacob, William Landay wrote this critically acclaimed first novel of crime and suspense—perfect for fans of John Grisham, Scott Turow, and Dennis Lehane.

 
“Landay writes with eloquent intensity.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
By a shimmering lake in western Maine, a body lies sprawled in a deserted cabin. The dead man was an elite D.A. from Boston whose beat was the city’s toughest neighborhood: Mission Flats. For local police chief Ben Truman, investigating the murder will mean leaving his quiet home and joining a vengeful manhunt in a world of hard streets and harder bargains. The cops have zeroed in on a suspect, a ruthless predator targeted for prosecution by the murdered D.A. But Ben distrusts the Boston police—especially when he uncovers a secret history of murder and retribution stretching back twenty years. As past and present collide, as tribal loyalties threaten to lynch an innocent man—or let a guilty one go free—one thing remains certain: The most powerful revelations are yet to come.
 
Includes an excerpt of Defending Jacob
 
“A crackling debut that answers the question: Who will be the next Grisham?”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
“An inventive, gripping suspense debut . . . Landay deals out pertinent details with the finesse of a poker player. . . . A rich, harrowing and delightful read.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“[Landay’s] tale is reminiscent of his fellow Beantown writer Dennis Lehane, which is a true compliment.”Rocky Mountain News
 
“Waiting for a new Landay novel is like waiting for a guy from Cremona to build a violin: anxious but worth it.”—Lee Child
 
format_aacpleAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
eBook
idf4cc428b-779e-afe2-eed2-87f4b0e3ba2e
isbn9780440334552
9781415952931
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:a14975181497518-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-hd6g9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:030146ae-d64c-4151-a527-c595b64a3d251Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b71Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b7-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook7falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_aacplElectronic Book
last_indexed2021-05-11T08:43:26.064Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780440334552
publishDate2003
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
external_econtent:ils:a1497518eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2003.400 p.
overdrive:030146ae-d64c-4151-a527-c595b64a3d25eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2003
overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b7eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2003
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:a14975181497518-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:030146ae-d64c-4151-a527-c595b64a3d251Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b71Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:ba52f190-88c7-428b-a49f-c3729e2fc5b7-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Police Procedural -- Mystery & Detective
Psychological -- FICTION
Suspense -- Thrillers
title_displayMission Flats A Novel
title_fullMission Flats A Novel
Mission Flats A Novel [eBook] Landay, William.
title_shortMission Flats
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature
Mystery
Police Procedural
Psychological
Suspense
Thriller