We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The German girl: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Featured in Entertainment Weekly , People, The Millions, and USA TODAY "An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II." --Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "engrossing and heartbreaking" ( Library Journal , starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale , Lilac Girls , and The Tattooist of Auschwitz . Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis , a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom. New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past. Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781501121234
9781501121241
9781501121142
9781508226864
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
Grouping Titlegerman girl
Grouping Authorarmando lucas correa
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-23 04:16:47AM
Last Indexed2020-09-23 04:40:35AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Caistor, Nick
Osmanski, Joy.
authorCorrea, Armando Lucas.
author2-roleCaistor, Nicktranslator.
Osmanski, Joy.|Narrator
Simon & Schuster Audio (Firm).
cloudLibrary
author_displayCorrea, Armando Lucas
available_at_aacplCrofton Library
Deale Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Adult Fiction
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
Deale Library - Adult Fiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
display_descriptionBefore everything changed, young Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now, in 1939, the streets of Berlin are draped with red, white, and black flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together. Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis , a transatlantic liner offering Jews safe passage out of Germany. After a frantic search to obtain visas, the Rosenthals and the Martins depart on the luxurious ship bound for Havana. Life on board the St. Louis is like a surreal holiday for the refugees, with masquerade balls, exquisite meals, and polite, respectful service. But soon ominous rumors from Cuba undermine the passengers' fragile sense of safety. From one day to the next, impossible choices are offered, unthinkable sacrifices are made, and the ship that once was their salvation seems likely to become their doom. Seven decades later in New York City, on her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents will inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past, a quest that will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world. The German Girl sweeps from Berlin at the brink of the Second World War to Cuba on the cusp of revolution, to New York in the wake of September 11, before reaching its deeply moving conclusion in the tumult of present-day Havana.
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
isbn9781501121142
9781501121234
9781501121241
9781508226864
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books4falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:a131050231997095292348Severna Park Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 21, 2020S-PK
ils:a131050231997095292389Crofton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfJun 20, 2020CRO
ils:a131050231997095292413Deale Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 25, 2020SCO
ils:a131050231997095292330Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfJul 11, 2020EAN
ils:a131050231997095292462Crofton Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 04, 2020CRO
ils:a131050231997095292355Broadneck Library - Adult FictionFICTION (C)1falsefalseChecked OutSep 09, 2020BDN
rbdigital:rbdZ100117013rbdZ100117013RBdigitalOnline RBdigitaleAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueRBdigitalhttps://annearundelcomd.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781508226864Available OnlineRBdigital
external_econtent:ils:a15590551559055-1001OnlineCLOUD LIBRARYeBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-k4n9xg9Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf01Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_aacplAdult General Fiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-09-23T08:40:35.232Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_aacplCLOUD LIBRARY
FICTION (C)
Online OverDrive
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Crofton Library
Deale Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9781501121234
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1559055eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books, 2016.368 p.
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2016
ils:a1310502BookBooksFirst Atria books hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2016.343 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
rbdigital:rbdZ100117013eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio ;2016, p2016.1 online resource (10 hr., 49 min.)
external_econtent:ils:a1559055eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books, 2016.368 p.
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:a131050231997095292348On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a131050231997095292389On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a131050231997095292413On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a131050231997095292330On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a131050231997095292462On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a131050231997095292355Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
rbdigital:rbdZ100117013rbdZ100117013Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:a15590551559055-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf01Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAudiobooks
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
FICTION / General
Fiction
Historical -- FICTION
Historical fiction
Jewish -- FICTION
Jews -- Cuba -- Fiction
Jews, German -- Fiction
Sagas -- FICTION
title_displayThe German girl
title_fullThe German Girl A Novel
The German Girl A Novel [eBook] Correa, Armando Lucas.
The German girl / Armando Lucas Correa ; translated by Nick Caistor
The German girl [electronic resource] : a novel / Armando Lucas Correa
title_shortThe German girl
title_suba novel
topic_facetFICTION / General
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Jewish
Jews
Jews, German
Literature
Sagas