We now offer Curbside Plus Services. Bookdrops remain open but buildings are closed. Returned items are quarantined for 6 days before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Prince Charles: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen --perfect for fans of The Crown . Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look at Prince Charles, the oldest heir to the throne in more than three hundred years. This vivid, eye-opening biography--the product of four years of research and hundreds of interviews with palace officials, former girlfriends, spiritual gurus, and more, some speaking on the record for the first time--is the first authoritative treatment of Charles's life that sheds light on the death of Diana, his marriage to Camilla, and his preparations to take the throne one day. Prince Charles brings to life the real man, with all of his ambitions, insecurities, and convictions. It begins with his lonely childhood, in which he struggled to live up to his father's expectations and sought companionship from the Queen Mother and his great-uncle Lord Mountbatten. It follows him through difficult years at school, his early love affairs, his intellectual quests, his entrepreneurial pursuits, and his intense search for spiritual meaning. It tells of the tragedy of his marriage to Diana; his eventual reunion with his true love, Camilla; and his relationships with William, Kate, Harry, and his grandchildren. Ranging from his glamorous palaces to his country homes, from his globe-trotting travels to his local initiatives, Smith shows how Prince Charles possesses a fiercely independent spirit and yet has spent more than six decades waiting for his destined role, living a life dictated by protocols he often struggles to obey. With keen insight and the discovery of unexpected new details, Smith lays bare the contradictions of a man who is more complicated, tragic, and compelling than we knew, until now. Praise for Prince Charles "[Smith] understands the British upper classes and aristocracy (including the royals) very well indeed. . . . [She] makes many telling, shrewd points in pursuit of realigning the popular image of Prince Charles." --William Boyd, The New York Times Book Review "[A] masterly account." -- The Wall Street Journal "Thoroughly researched and insightful . . . In this profile, it is clear [Smith] got inside the circular barriers that protect the man and his position. The Charles that emerges is, as the subtitle suggests, both a paradox and a creature of his passions." -- The Washington Times "[A] compellingly juicy bio . . . Windsor-philes will be mesmerized." -- People " Prince Charles paints an affectingly human portrait. . . . Smith writes about [Charles's life] with a skill and sympathy she perfected in her 2012 biography of Charles's mother." -- The Christian Science Monitor "Comprehensive and admirably fair . . . Until his accession to the throne, Smith's portrait will stand as the definitive study."-- Booklist (starred review) "[A] fascinating book that is not just about a man who would be king, but also about the duties that come with privilege." --Walter Isaacson "Sally Bedell Smith has given us a complete and compelling portrait of the man in the shadow of the throne. It's all here, from the back stairs of the palaces to the front pages of the tabs." --Tom Brokaw
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780812979800
9780307934246
9780812988437
9781400067909
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf80da437-1f7b-11cc-c1f0-513d4bd27aec
Grouping Titleprince charles the passions and paradoxes of an improbable life
Grouping Authorsally bedell smith
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-21 04:16:56AM
Last Indexed2020-09-20 21:18:01PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSmith, Sally Bedell.
author2-rolecloudLibrary
author_displaySmith, Sally Bedell
available_at_aacplBrooklyn Park Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Riviera Beach Library
Severn Library
Severna Park Library
collection_aacplADULT
CLOUD LIBRARY
detailed_location_aacplBroadneck Library - Nonfiction
Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction
Crofton Library - Nonfiction
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction
Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
Online
Online OverDrive Collection
Riviera Beach Library - Nonfiction
Severn Library - Nonfiction
Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
display_descriptionPrince Charles is the oldest heir to the British throne in more than three hundred years. This biography -- the product of four years of research and hundreds of interviews with palace officials, former girlfriends, spiritual gurus, and more -- is filled with fresh insights into Charles's life, in and out of the public eye. It begins with his lonely childhood, in which he struggled to live up to his father's expectations and sought companionship from the Queen Mother and his great-uncle Lord Mountbatten. It follows him through difficult years at school, his early love affairs, his intellectual quests, his entrepreneurial pursuits, and his intense search for spiritual meaning. It tells of the tragedy of his marriage to Diana; his eventual reunion with his true love, Camilla; and his relationship with William, Kate, Harry, and his grandchildren.--
format_aacplBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_aacplAudio Books
Books
eBook
idf80da437-1f7b-11cc-c1f0-513d4bd27aec
isbn9780307934246
9780812979800
9780812988437
9781400067909
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:5b907dc9-773c-4837-bf72-bbeba6b87e73-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:5b907dc9-773c-4837-bf72-bbeba6b87e731Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:a14936541493654-1001OnlineXX(1493654.1)eBookeBook1falsetrueCLOUD LIBRARYhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AACPL-document_id-m2crc89Available OnlineZ-ELIBRARY
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:a137938831997099648057Odenton Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 10, 2020WCO
ils:a137938831997099648008Riviera Beach Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfOct 16, 2019RIV
ils:a137938831997099648016Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfNov 04, 2019EAN
ils:a137938831997099648099Broadneck Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseChecked OutSep 04, 2020BDN
ils:a137938831997099647992Severna Park Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 01, 2019S-PK
ils:a137938831997099648040Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfDec 15, 2019EAN
ils:a137938831997099648248Severn Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 24, 2017PRO
ils:a137938831997099648081Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfAug 22, 2019BPK
ils:a137938831997099648230Glen Burnie Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseOn ShelfJan 16, 2020NCO
ils:a137938831997099647976Crofton Library - Nonfiction921 CHARLES1falsefalseChecked OutAug 05, 2020CRO
itype_aacplAdult Nonfiction
Electronic Book
last_indexed2020-09-21T01:18:01.121Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_aacpl921 CHARLES
Online OverDrive
XX(1493654.1)
owning_library_aacplAnne Arundel County Public Library
Anne Arundel County Public Library Online
owning_location_aacplBroadneck Library
Brooklyn Park Library
Crofton Library
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library
Glen Burnie Library
Odenton Library
Online OverDrive Collection
Riviera Beach Library
Severn Library
Severna Park Library
primary_isbn9780812979800
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:a1493654eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2017.624 p.
overdrive:5b907dc9-773c-4837-bf72-bbeba6b87e73eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
external_econtent:ils:a1493654eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2017.624 p.
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0eeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
ils:a1379388BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2017]xxii, 596 pages : illustrations (chiefly color), map ; 25 cm
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_aacpl
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:5b907dc9-773c-4837-bf72-bbeba6b87e73-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:5b907dc9-773c-4837-bf72-bbeba6b87e731Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:a14936541493654-1001Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:a137938831997099648057On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099648008On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099648016On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099648099Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099647992On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099648040On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099648248On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099648081On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099648230On ShelfOn Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:a137938831997099647976Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetBIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Royalty
Biographies
Biography
Charles, -- Prince of Wales, -- 1948-
Charles, -- Prince of Wales, -- 1948- -- Family
Electronic books
Families
Great Britain
Great Britain -- Europe
HISTORY / Europe / Great Britain
HISTORY / Modern
Local author
Modern -- HISTORY
Princes
Princes -- Great Britain -- Biography
Royalty -- BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
title_displayPrince Charles : The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life
title_fullPrince Charles : The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life / Sally Bedell Smith
Prince Charles The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life
Prince Charles The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life [eBook] Smith, Sally Bedell.
title_shortPrince Charles
title_subThe Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life
topic_facetBIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Royalty
Biography & Autobiography
Charles
Families
Family
Great Britain
HISTORY / Europe / Great Britain
HISTORY / Modern
History
Modern
Nonfiction
Princes
Royalty