All individuals ages two and older who enter Anne Arundel County Public Library buildings
are required to wear a mask, regardless of vaccination status.

Learn more about how AACPL is working to keep customers and staff safe.

Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Click here to make your library better.

Amazonia
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Recorded Books, Inc. 2002
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

From national best-selling author James Rollins comes a breathtaking masterwork of extraordinary adventure. A U.S. Special Forces agent walks out of the Amazon jungle after five years and quickly dies of rampant tumors. What's really bizarre is that this man has two arms; but when he entered the jungle as part of a biopharmaceutical exploratory expedition, he had only one. The dead agent's body is shipped to the States, hosting a disease that threatens to wipe out the American population.

Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
04/17/2002
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781449882754
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

James Rollins. (2002). Amazonia. Unabridged Recorded Books, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

James Rollins. 2002. Amazonia. Recorded Books, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

James Rollins, Amazonia. Recorded Books, Inc, 2002.

MLA Citation (style guide)

James Rollins. Amazonia. Unabridged Recorded Books, Inc, 2002.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Anne Arundel County Public Library11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
e31438b5-2ad7-f137-9fc9-21d795ef199e
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Sep 24, 2020 14:45:00
Date Updated:
Sep 24, 2020 14:45:00
Last Metadata Check:
Oct 17, 2021 09:01:58
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 04, 2021 21:42:10
Last Availability Check:
Oct 17, 2021 09:02:02
Last Availability Change:
Oct 03, 2021 17:36:46
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Oct 18, 2021 04:07:42

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Amazonia
crossRefId
5738839
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/11272-1/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/11272-1/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/11272-19C4/3C1/D2/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/11272-19C4/3C1/D2/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781449882754
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781449882754
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: James Rollins
id
9c43c1d2-b6bb-44bf-85c6-379c353b3cd9
title
Amazonia
starRating
0
dateAdded
2020-09-24T08:20:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=51&titleID=5738839
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Maryland's Digital Library (MD)
          • id: 831

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/11272-1/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/11272-1/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/11272-19C4/3C1/D2/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/11272-19C4/3C1/D2/{9C43C1D2-B6BB-44BF-85C6-379C353B3CD9}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: multipart.odm
      • partCount: 16
      • fileSize: 447403088
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781449882754
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 0
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 04/17/2002
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/11272-1/5738839-Amazonia.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=9c43c1d2-b6bb-44bf-85c6-379c353b3cd9&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: multipart.odm
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 447363022
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781449882754
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 04/17/2002
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/11272-1/5738839-Amazonia.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=9c43c1d2-b6bb-44bf-85c6-379c353b3cd9&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Rollins, James
      • name: James Rollins
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Guidall, George
      • name: George Guidall
imprint
Recorded Books, Inc.
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Thriller
publishDate
2002-04-17T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
04/17/2002
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription

From national best-selling author James Rollins comes a breathtaking masterwork of extraordinary adventure. A U.S. Special Forces agent walks out of the Amazon jungle after five years and quickly dies of rampant tumors. What's really bizarre is that this man has two arms; but when he entered the jungle as part of a biopharmaceutical exploratory expedition, he had only one. The dead agent's body is shipped to the States, hosting a disease that threatens to wipe out the American population.

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Amazonia
fullDescription

From national best-selling author James Rollins comes a breathtaking masterwork of extraordinary adventure. A U.S. Special Forces agent walks out of the Amazon jungle after five years and quickly dies of rampant tumors. What's really bizarre is that this man has two arms; but when he entered the jungle as part of a biopharmaceutical exploratory expedition, he had only one. The dead agent's body is shipped to the States, hosting a disease that threatens to wipe out the American population.

sortTitle
Amazonia
crossRefId
5738839
reviews
      • premium: True
      • source: AudioFile Magazine
      • content: Scientists and U.S. Rangers journey into the Brazilian jungle to uncover the mystery behind a lost scientific expedition. Their mission involves both unusual natural dangers--such as piranhas with legs and giant crocodiles--and saboteurs out to steal their potentially valuable findings. For Nathan Rand, the quest is personal; his father led the lost mission. For the world, it could provide a cure for a mysterious plague. Ruben Santiago-Hudson brings this tale of strange perils and brilliant escapes alive. He builds tension skillfully and even brings a bit of emotional depth to the comic-book adventure. Some listeners may object to the bloodiness of the tangles with natural and other enemies. J.A.S. (c) AudioFile 2002, Portland, Maine
      • premium: True
      • source: Publisher's Weekly
      • content:

        March 4, 2002
        The use of mass market originals as a farm team for hardcovers has lost popularity, but still works occasionally, as with Rollins, whose three mass markets (Deep Fathom, Excavation
        and Subterranean) displayed a flair for brawny adventure within an exotic locale—a flair put to good use in his hardcover debut. A U.S. Special Forces agent walks out of the Amazon jungle and quickly dies of rampant tumors; what's especially bizarre is that this man has two arms, but when he entered the jungle five years before as part of a biopharmaceutical exploratory expedition, which has been lost track of, he had only one. The rest of the novel follows a group of scientists and U.S. military guardians as they trek deep into the jungle in search of the missing expedition and, hopefully, the secret to the regrown arm—a secret that takes on vast importance when the dead agent's body, shipped to the States, spreads a disease that threatens to wipe out the American population. Meanwhile, a second, predatory expedition, led by a French psychopath, surreptitiously follows the first, aiming to steal whatever cure the searchers uncover; both expeditions wind up at the isolated home of a legendary tribe and the malignant, giant tree that sustains it. Rollins won't win awards for his prose or characters, though both function smoothly in this boldly drawn entertainment, and there's little here that isn't a variation of some classic adventure trope. His pacing is forceful, however, and his atmospherics rich, with giant caimans and jaguars, mutant amphibians and hungry locusts adding to the mayhem, a high body count and a congenial sense of the ridiculous—although Rollins plays it deadpan. This is old-fashioned, rugged adventure in the tradition of Haggard and Crichton, told with energy, excitement and a sense of fun. (Mar.)Forecast:National print ads and California regional author appearances will win Rollins some fans, but the simultaneous release of 12-copy prepacks of his three mass markets manifest this novel's likely fate: respectable hardcover, bestselling paperback.

popularity
0
publisher
Recorded Books, Inc.
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L2BaQAAAOQCAAA1L/products/9c43c1d2-b6bb-44bf-85c6-379c353b3cd9/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
9c43c1d2-b6bb-44bf-85c6-379c353b3cd9
starRating
5