Returned items are quarantined for 96 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not applied while items are in quarantine.

Buffalo Nickel
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Published:
BookBaby 2013
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
More Details
Street Date:
07/01/2013
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781626759947
ASIN:
B00DNGCTCU
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

C.W. Smith. (2013). Buffalo Nickel. BookBaby.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

C.W. Smith. 2013. Buffalo Nickel. BookBaby.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

C.W. Smith, Buffalo Nickel. BookBaby, 2013.

MLA Citation (style guide)

C.W. Smith. Buffalo Nickel. BookBaby, 2013. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Anne Arundel County Public Library11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
413ea021-a4a6-7269-d123-8345b0f5f0db
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jun 03, 2017 05:27:48
Date Updated:
Nov 18, 2017 05:29:52
Last Metadata Check:
Aug 09, 2020 05:08:55
Last Metadata Change:
Nov 21, 2019 19:28:20
Last Availability Check:
Aug 09, 2020 05:09:00
Last Availability Change:
Sep 04, 2017 22:50:29
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Aug 11, 2020 04:16:59

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Buffalo Nickel
crossRefId
3098291
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2281-1/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2281-1/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2281-1/C10/90B/A9/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2281-1/C10/90B/A9/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781626759947
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00DNGCTCU
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781626759947
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: C.W. Smith
id
c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf
title
Buffalo Nickel
starRating
0
dateAdded
2017-04-18T12:41:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=51&titleID=3098291
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Maryland's Digital Library (MD)
          • id: 831

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/2281-1/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/2281-1/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/2281-1/C10/90B/A9/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/2281-1/C10/90B/A9/{C1090BA9-7829-4EF5-8989-313D8A9414CF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: BuffaloNickel9781626759947
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 532462
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781626759947
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 07/01/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: BuffaloNickel9781626759947
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00DNGCTCU
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 07/01/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: BuffaloNickel9781626759947
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 532462
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781626759947
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 07/01/2013
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Smith, C.W.
      • name: C.W. Smith
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Thriller
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDate
2013-07-01T00:00:00-04:00
publishDateText
07/01/2013
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Buffalo Nickel
fullDescription

In the tradition of Lonesome Dove, C. W. Smith's novel Buffalo Nickel is a sprawling saga of love and money based on the real life of a man known to the press in the 1920s as "the world's richest Indian." When oil was struck on his Oklahoma farm in in 1917, a Kiowa called David Copperfield by his missionary teachers became an millionaire overnight and so began to live out the destiny implied by his Indian name, Went On A Journey. From his childhood in the tamed West (where buffalo are imported from the Bronx Zoo) to his career as professional Indian in Hollywood Westerns, the story of Buffalo Nickel vividly evokes all the drama and agony of living between two cultures. At the very heart of the story is an explosive triangle as two women vie for his money or his love: Laura Darby, a washed-up vaudeville singer who hopes to parlay his fortune into movie stardom; and Iola Conroy, a childhood Kiowa friend and Red Cross nurse who follows David to California, where she is forced to confront David's marriage—and her own identity. David and those around him are trapped in the tumultuous upheaval following the conquest of the Plains Tribes until thwarted desires rage into an explosive climax. "This is a western novel in the most positive sense, a book that reveals a moment in history even as it tells a story of cultural alienation, love, greed, betrayal and longing.....Though the book spans just 25 years, the emotional and physical distances Smith's characters travel are immense, and his loving narrative makes Buffalo Nickel a compelling read." Publishers Weekly

sortTitle
Buffalo Nickel
crossRefId
3098291
popularity
1
publisher
BookBaby
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L2BaQAAAOQCAAA1L/products/c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
c1090ba9-7829-4ef5-8989-313d8a9414cf
starRating
0