Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

Stiltsville: A Novel
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
HarperCollins 2010
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Checked Out
Description

"A wise and loving portrait of a marriage....Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart." — Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel's Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. One sunny morning in 1969, 26 year old Frances Ellerby finds herself in a place called Stiltsville, a community of houses built on pilings in the middle of Biscayne Bay. It's the first time the Atlanta native has been out on the open water, and she's captivated. On the dock of a stilt house, with the dazzling skyline in the distance and the unknowable ocean beneath her, she meets the house's owner, Dennis DuVal—and a new future reveals itself. Called "an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read" by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.


Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
08/03/2010
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062005489
ASIN:
B003QHYOH4
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Susanna Daniel. (2010). Stiltsville: A Novel. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Susanna Daniel. 2010. Stiltsville: A Novel. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Susanna Daniel, Stiltsville: A Novel. HarperCollins, 2010.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Susanna Daniel. Stiltsville: A Novel. HarperCollins, 2010. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10
Anne Arundel County Public Library10

There are 4 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
654b243e-36b5-e0f4-0c01-047d590af619
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 07, 2017 17:31:15
Date Updated:
Dec 08, 2020 22:44:22
Last Metadata Check:
Jul 03, 2022 22:03:16
Last Metadata Change:
Jun 27, 2022 21:58:33
Last Availability Check:
Jul 03, 2022 22:03:17
Last Availability Change:
Jun 21, 2022 10:31:45
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Jul 05, 2022 04:07:47

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/C38/59B/CD/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/C38/59B/CD/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062005489
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B003QHYOH4
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062005489
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780061963087
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Susanna Daniel
title
Stiltsville
dateAdded
2010-10-25T16:12:18.147-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=51&titleID=357922
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Maryland's Digital Library (MD)
          • id: 831
sortTitle
Stiltsville A Novel
crossRefId
357922
subtitle
A Novel
id
c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f7386512
starRating
3.7

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/C38/59B/CD/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/C38/59B/CD/{C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: Stiltsville_9780062005489_357922
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 773119
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062005489
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 34
            • type: Printing
            • value: 34
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 08/03/2010
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-epub-adobe
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-410/0293-1/C38/59B/CD/Stiltsville9780062005489.epub
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Stiltsville_357922
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B003QHYOH4
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 08/03/2010
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-epub-adobe
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-410/0293-1/C38/59B/CD/Stiltsville9780062005489.epub
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Stiltsville_9780062005489_357922
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062005489
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 08/03/2010
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-epub-adobe
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-410/0293-1/C38/59B/CD/Stiltsville9780062005489.epub
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=C3859BCD-D343-4854-8825-2CD0F7386512&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Daniel, Susanna
      • bioText:

        Susanna Daniel was born and raised in Miami, Florida. Her first novel, Stiltsville, was awarded the PEN/Bingham prize for debut fiction. She is a graduate of Columbia University and the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and lives in Madison, Wisconsin.

      • name: Susanna Daniel
imprint
HarperCollins e-books
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Romance
publishDate
2010-08-03T00:00:00-04:00
publishDateText
08/03/2010
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780061963087
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

"A wise and loving portrait of a marriage....Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart." — Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel's Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. One sunny morning in 1969, 26 year old Frances Ellerby finds herself in a place called Stiltsville, a community of houses built on pilings in the middle of Biscayne Bay. It's the first time the Atlanta native has been out on the open water, and she's captivated. On the dock of a stilt house, with the dazzling skyline in the distance and the unknowable ocean beneath her, she meets the house's owner, Dennis DuVal—and a new future reveals itself. Called "an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read" by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Stiltsville
fullDescription

"A wise and loving portrait of a marriage....Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart." — Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel's Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. One sunny morning in 1969, 26 year old Frances Ellerby finds herself in a place called Stiltsville, a community of houses built on pilings in the middle of Biscayne Bay. It's the first time the Atlanta native has been out on the open water, and she's captivated. On the dock of a stilt house, with the dazzling skyline in the distance and the unknowable ocean beneath her, she meets the house's owner, Dennis DuVal—and a new future reveals itself. Called "an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read" by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.


sortTitle
Stiltsville A Novel
crossRefId
357922
subtitle
A Novel
popularity
248
publisher
HarperCollins
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BaQAAAA29/products/c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f7386512/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f7386512
starRating
3.7