The Riviera Beach Library is currently closed.

The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(7)
4 star
 
(4)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Published:
HarperCollins 2015
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

A devious tale of psychological suspense perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins' The Girl on the Train—and is soon to be a major movie directed by Agnieszka Holland.

In a tantalizing set-up reminiscent of Patricia Highsmith's classic Strangers on a Train... On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that's going stale and his wife Miranda, who he's sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start—he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit—a contrast that once inflamed their passion, but has now become a cliché.

But their game turns a little darker when Ted jokes that he could kill Miranda for what she's done. Lily, without missing a beat, says calmly, "I'd like to help." After all, some people are the kind worth killing, like a lying, stinking, cheating spouse. . . .

Back in Boston, Ted and Lily's twisted bond grows stronger as they begin to plot Miranda's demise. But there are a few things about Lily's past that she hasn't shared with Ted, namely her experience in the art and craft of murder, a journey that began in her very precocious youth.

Suddenly these co-conspirators are embroiled in a chilling game of cat-and-mouse, one they both cannot survive . . . with a shrewd and very determined detective on their tail.

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
02/03/2015
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062267542
ASIN:
B00JOFW596
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Peter Swanson. (2015). The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Peter Swanson. 2015. The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel. HarperCollins.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Peter Swanson, The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel. HarperCollins, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Peter Swanson. The Kind Worth Killing: A Novel. HarperCollins, 2015.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2022. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection20
Anne Arundel County Public Library7776

There are 13 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
fe92c3f8-7aa8-d755-04d9-e76b203f8038
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 07, 2017 17:47:17
Date Updated:
Jul 31, 2023 21:38:39
Last Metadata Check:
Feb 27, 2024 08:04:26
Last Metadata Change:
Feb 25, 2024 05:36:48
Last Availability Check:
Feb 27, 2024 08:04:27
Last Availability Change:
Feb 24, 2024 21:44:03
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Feb 27, 2024 04:06:09

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG100.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG200.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG150.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG400.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062267542
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00JOFW596
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062267542
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780062267535
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Peter Swanson
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Kind Worth Killing
dateAdded
2015-02-13T20:06:14.383Z
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com?websiteID=51&titleID=1681730
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Maryland's Digital Library (MD)
          • id: 831
sortTitle
Kind Worth Killing A Novel
crossRefId
1681730
subtitle
A Novel
id
D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7
starRating
4.1

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: TheKindWorthKilling_9780062267542_1681730
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 1193291
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062267542
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 32
            • type: Printing
            • value: 32
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 2/3/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/kind-worth-killing?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheKindWorthKilling_1681730
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B00JOFW596
      • name: Kindle Book
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 2/3/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/kind-worth-killing?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheKindWorthKilling_9780062267542_1681730
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780062267542
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • isReadAlong: False
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 2/3/2015
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/kind-worth-killing?.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Swanson, Peter
      • bioText:

        Peter Swanson is the New York Times bestselling author of The Kind Worth Killing, winner of the New England Society Book Award and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger; Her Every Fear, an NPR book of the year; and Eight Perfect Murders, a New York Times bestseller, among others. His books have been translated into 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov's Science Fiction, The Atlantic Monthly, Measure, The Guardian, The Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine. He lives on the North Shore of Massachusetts, where he is at work on his next novel.

      • name: Peter Swanson
imprint
William Morrow Paperbacks
publishDate
2015-02-03T00:00:00-05:00
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Kind Worth Killing
fullDescription

A devious tale of psychological suspense perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins' The Girl on the Train—and is soon to be a major movie directed by Agnieszka Holland.

In a tantalizing set-up reminiscent of Patricia Highsmith's classic Strangers on a Train... On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that's going stale and his wife Miranda, who he's sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start—he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit—a contrast that once inflamed their passion, but has now become a cliché.

But their game turns a little darker when Ted jokes that he could kill Miranda for what she's done. Lily, without missing a beat, says calmly, "I'd like to help." After all, some people are the kind worth killing, like a lying, stinking, cheating spouse. . . .

Back in Boston, Ted and Lily's twisted bond grows stronger as they begin to plot Miranda's demise. But there are a few things about Lily's past that she hasn't shared with Ted, namely her experience in the art and craft of murder, a journey that began in her very precocious youth.

Suddenly these co-conspirators are embroiled in a chilling game of cat-and-mouse, one they both cannot survive . . . with a shrewd and very determined detective on their tail.

popularity
11565
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BaQAAAA29/products/d0bf7098-4679-49a3-b685-24e0ed8644a7/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
d0bf7098-4679-49a3-b685-24e0ed8644a7
starRating
4.1
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG100.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG200.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG150.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0293-1/{D0BF7098-4679-49A3-B685-24E0ED8644A7}IMG400.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Suspense
      • value: Thriller
publishDateText
02/03/2015
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780062267535
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

A devious tale of psychological suspense perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins' The Girl on the Train—and is soon to be a major movie directed by Agnieszka Holland.

In a tantalizing set-up reminiscent of Patricia Highsmith's classic Strangers on a Train... On a night flight from London to Boston, Ted Severson meets the stunning and mysterious Lily Kintner. Sharing one too many martinis, the strangers begin to play a game of truth, revealing very intimate details about themselves. Ted talks about his marriage that's going stale and his wife Miranda, who he's sure is cheating on him. Ted and his wife were a mismatch from the start—he the rich businessman, she the artistic free spirit—a contrast that once inflamed their passion, but has now become a cliché.

But their game turns a little darker when Ted jokes that he could kill Miranda for what she's done. Lily, without missing a beat, says calmly, "I'd like to help." After all, some...

sortTitle
Kind Worth Killing A Novel
crossRefId
1681730
subtitle
A Novel
publisher
HarperCollins
bisacCodes
      • code: FIC019000
      • description: Fiction / Literary
      • code: FIC030000
      • description: Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense