Text Messaging Service Unavailable: The text messaging service which alerts customers to available holds and overdue items is currently down. Please login to your account to view the latest holds and overdue information.

The Glen Burnie Library is closed August 8 - 22 for carpet replacement. Information about holds pickup and more details.

Support AACPL's collections, services, programs and more by setting up a recurring gift. Help make your library better.

The German Girl: A Novel
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Atria Books 2016
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

"An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II." —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife


A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "engrossing and heartbreaking" (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.
Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.
Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
OverDrive Read
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
10/18/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781501121241
ASIN:
B01CO34EC0
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Armando Lucas Correa. (2016). The German Girl: A Novel. Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Armando Lucas Correa. 2016. The German Girl: A Novel. Atria Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Armando Lucas Correa, The German Girl: A Novel. Atria Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Armando Lucas Correa. The German Girl: A Novel. Atria Books, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection10
Anne Arundel County Public Library11

There are 2 holds on this title.

Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 07, 2017 17:32:07
Date Updated:
Jul 13, 2022 10:38:40
Last Metadata Check:
Aug 14, 2022 04:27:22
Last Metadata Change:
Aug 11, 2022 15:04:34
Last Availability Check:
Aug 14, 2022 04:27:24
Last Availability Change:
Aug 11, 2022 15:04:35
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Aug 14, 2022 04:31:43

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG100.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG200.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG150.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG400.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781501121241
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01CO34EC0
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781501121241
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Armando Lucas Correa
title
The German Girl
dateAdded
2017-02-06T16:29:00Z
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=51&titleID=2621426
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Maryland's Digital Library (MD)
          • id: 831
sortTitle
German Girl A Novel
crossRefId
2621426
subtitle
A Novel
id
D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0
starRating
3.8

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG100.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG200.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG150.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0439-1/{D78C236A-8773-4036-A89E-19BDEC824CF0}IMG400.JPG
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: TheGermanGirl_9781501121241_2621426
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 41222096
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781501121241
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 10/18/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheGermanGirl_2621426
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B01CO34EC0
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 10/18/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: TheGermanGirl_9781501121241_2621426
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 35468122
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781501121241
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 10/18/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Correa, Armando Lucas
      • bioText: Armando Lucas Correa is an award-winning journalist, editor, author, and the recipient of several awards from the National Association of Hispanic Publications and the Society of Professional Journalism. He is the author of the international bestseller The German Girl, which is now being published in thirteen languages. He lives in New York City with his partner and their three children. Visit ArmandoLucasCorrea.com.
      • name: Armando Lucas Correa
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: Literature
      • value: Historical Fiction
publishDate
2016-10-18T00:00:00-04:00
publishDateText
10/18/2016
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

"An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II." —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife


A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "engrossing and heartbreaking" (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.
Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of...
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The German Girl
fullDescription
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

"An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II." —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife


A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this "engrossing and heartbreaking" (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.
Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family's fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family's mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.
sortTitle
German Girl A Novel
crossRefId
2621426
subtitle
A Novel
popularity
1618
publisher
Atria Books
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/v1L1BaQAAAA29/products/d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0
starRating
3.8