Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

Ninth City burning
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
New York : Ace Books, 2016.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
viii, 482 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Odenton Library - Adult Science Fiction
SCIENCE FICTION (B)
Description
For fans of Red Rising, Starship Troopers , and Ender's Game comes an explosive, epic science fiction debut... We never saw them coming.a Entire cities disappeared in the blink of an eye, leaving nothing but dust and rubble. When an alien race came to make Earth theirs, they brought with them a weapon we had no way to fight, a universe-altering force known as thelemity. It seemed nothing could stop it-until we discovered we could wield the power too. Five hundred years later, the Earth is locked in a grinding war of attrition. The talented few capable of bending thelemity to their will are trained in elite military academies, destined for the front lines. Those who refused to support the war have been exiled to the wilds of a ruined Earth. But the enemy's tactics are changing, and Earth's defenders are about to discover this centuries-old war has only just begun. As a terrible new onslaught looms, heroes will rise from unlikely quarters, and fight back.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Odenton Library - Adult Science Fiction
SCIENCE FICTION (B)
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
1609
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101991442, 1101991445

Notes

Description
"Centuries of war with aliens threaten the future of human civilization on earth in this gripping, epic science fiction debut ... We never saw them coming. Entire cities disappeared in the blink of an eye, leaving nothing but dust and rubble. When an alien race came to make Earth theirs, they brought with them a weapon we had no way to fight, a universe-altering force known as thelemity. It seemed nothing could stop it--until we discovered we could wield the power too. Five hundred years later, the Earth is locked in a grinding war of attrition. The talented few capable of bending thelemity to their will are trained in elite military academies, destined for the front lines. Those who refused to support the war have been exiled to the wilds of a ruined Earth. But the enemy's tactics are changing, and Earth's defenders are about to discover this centuries-old war has only just begun. As a terrible new onslaught looms, heroes will rise from unlikely quarters, and fight back"--,Provided by publisher.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Black, J. P. (2016). Ninth City burning. First edition. New York: Ace Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Black, J. Patrick. 2016. Ninth City Burning. New York: Ace Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Black, J. Patrick, Ninth City Burning. New York: Ace Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Black, J. Patrick. Ninth City Burning. First edition. New York: Ace Books, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c5922b21-e210-cdf0-1f97-57e057fd4129
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:03:29 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 05, 2020 04:16:59 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02581cam a22004698i 4500
001a1302626
003SIRSI
00520160901031630.0
008160502s2016    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a  2016009793
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d YDXCP|d BTCTA|d BDX|d OCLCO|d OCLCF|d OCLCO|d OCLCQ|d OCLCO|d JSE|d IUK|d A2A
020 |a 9781101991442|q (hdc.) :|c $27.00
020 |a 1101991445|q (hardback)
035 |a (OCoLC)932386212
042 |a pcc
05000|a PS3602.L2846|b N56 2016
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
084 |a FIC028010|a FIC028050|2 bisacsh
092 |a SCIENCE FICTION (B)
049 |a A2AA
1001 |a Black, J. Patrick,|e author.
24510|a Ninth City burning /|c J. Patrick Black.
2463 |a 9th city burning
250 |a First edition.
263 |a 1609
264 1|a New York :|b Ace Books,|c 2016.
300 |a viii, 482 pages ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "Centuries of war with aliens threaten the future of human civilization on earth in this gripping, epic science fiction debut ... We never saw them coming. Entire cities disappeared in the blink of an eye, leaving nothing but dust and rubble. When an alien race came to make Earth theirs, they brought with them a weapon we had no way to fight, a universe-altering force known as thelemity. It seemed nothing could stop it--until we discovered we could wield the power too. Five hundred years later, the Earth is locked in a grinding war of attrition. The talented few capable of bending thelemity to their will are trained in elite military academies, destined for the front lines. Those who refused to support the war have been exiled to the wilds of a ruined Earth. But the enemy's tactics are changing, and Earth's defenders are about to discover this centuries-old war has only just begun. As a terrible new onslaught looms, heroes will rise from unlikely quarters, and fight back"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Human-alien encounters|v Fiction.
650 7|a FICTION|x Science Fiction|x Adventure.|2 bisacsh
650 7|a FICTION|x Science Fiction|x Military.|2 bisacsh
655 7|a Science fiction.|2 gsafd
930 |a drl/00699
938 |a Brodart|b BROD|n 114541779
938 |a Baker and Taylor|b BTCP|n BK0018121898
938 |a YBP Library Services|b YANK|n 12752340
994 |a C0|b A2A
596 |a 16
999 |a SCIENCE FICTION (B)|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997095503967|d 2/22/2020|e 2/21/2020|l A-FIC-SCI|m WCO|n 18|p $27.00|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC-SCI|u 9/6/2016|z ADULT