Curbside Plus Services now include in-person appointments for computer use and other library services. Returned items are quarantined for 48 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not charged for quarantined items.

The girls: a novel
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Published:
New York : Random House Large Print, [2016].
Format:
Large Print
Edition:
First large print edition.
Physical Desc:
369 pages (large print) ; 24 cm
Status:
Broadneck Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
FICTION (C)
Crofton Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
FICTION (C)
Severn Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
FICTION (C)
Description
THE INSTANT BESTSELLER * An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post * NPR * The Guardian * Entertainment Weekly * San Francisco Chronicle * Financial Times * Esquire * Newsweek * Vogue * Glamour * People * The Huffington Post * Elle * Harper's Bazaar * Time Out * BookPage * Publishers Weekly * Slate Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence. Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize * Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Award * Shortlisted for The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize * The New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice * Emma Cline--One of Granta 's Best of Young American Novelists Praise for The Girls "Spellbinding . . . a seductive and arresting coming-of-age story." -- The New York Times Book Review "Extraordinary . . . Debut novels like this are rare, indeed." -- The Washington Post "Hypnotic." --The Wall Street Journal "Gorgeous." --Los Angeles Times "Savage." --The Guardian "Astonishing." --The Boston Globe "Superbly written." --James Wood, The New Yorker "Intensely consuming." --Richard Ford "A spectacular achievement." --Lucy Atkins, The Times "Thrilling." --Jennifer Egan "Compelling and startling." --The Economist
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Broadneck Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
FICTION (C)
On Shelf
Crofton Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
FICTION (C)
On Shelf
Severn Library - Large Print Fiction and Nonfiction
FICTION (C)
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780735208186 (lg. print - pbk.) :, 0735208182

Notes

Description
Girls--their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong--are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction--and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Cline, E. (2016). The girls: a novel. First large print edition. New York: Random House Large Print.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Cline, Emma. 2016. The Girls: A Novel. New York: Random House Large Print.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Cline, Emma, The Girls: A Novel. New York: Random House Large Print, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Cline, Emma. The Girls: A Novel. First large print edition. New York: Random House Large Print, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
87249f50-e06d-df2c-2bf8-b5faf7a3eaa7
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 11:03:44 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 28, 2020 10:18:14 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03226cam a2200493Ii 4500
001a1308235
003SIRSI
00520160808032432.0
008151022r20162016nyu     d     000 1 eng d
040 |a BTCTA|b eng|c BTCTA|d BDX|d OCLCQ|d TEFBT|d OCLCO|d OCLCF|d OCLCO|d ISL|d TEFBT|d JSE|d AZT|d JJG|d OCLCO|d OCL|d A2A
019 |a 951681195
020 |a 9780735208186 (lg. print - pbk.) :|c $27.00
020 |a 0735208182
0291 |a AU@|b 000057633341
035 |a (OCoLC)928105919|z (OCoLC)951681195
043 |a n-us-ca
05014|a PS3603.L547|b G58 2016b
08204|a 813/.6|2 23
092 |a FICTION (C)
049 |a A2AA
1001 |a Cline, Emma,|e author.
24514|a The girls|h [large print] :|b a novel /|c Emma Cline.
250 |a First large print edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Random House Large Print,|c [2016]
300 |a 369 pages (large print) ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
520 |a Girls--their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong--are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad. Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is enthralled by Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl's life when everything can go horribly wrong. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction--and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.
650 0|a Teenage girls|v Fiction.
650 0|a Communal living|z California|v Fiction.
650 0|a Nineteen sixties|v Fiction.
650 0|a Counterculture|v Fiction.
650 0|a Large type books.
655 7|a Psychological fiction.|2 lcgft
930 |a drl/07594 drl/07601
938 |a Brodart|b BROD|n 114205345
938 |a Baker and Taylor|b BTCP|n BK0017846064
994 |a C0|b A2A
596 |a 2 4 12
947 |b 9780735208186|f ADBKFIC|h ZHQADLPFIC |p 16.04|q 5
999 |a FICTION (C)|w AUTO|c 1|i 31997095726444|d 7/22/2019|e 7/15/2019|l A-LARGEPRN|m BDN|n 22|p $27.00|r Y|s Y|t A-LPRN-FIC|u 10/17/2016|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (C)|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997095726428|d 7/30/2020|e 7/29/2020|l A-LARGEPRN|m PRO|n 18|p $27.00|r Y|s Y|t A-LPRN-FIC|u 10/17/2016|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (C)|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997095412664|d 5/4/2019|e 4/30/2019|l A-LARGEPRN|m CRO|n 13|p $27.00|q 1|r Y|s Y|t A-LPRN-FIC|u 8/9/2016