Due to system upgrades, item availablilty information may not be accurate at this time.
Please call to ensure the availabilty of an item. 

Death at the Durbar : a Maharaja mystery
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Published:
Scottsdale, AZ : Poisoned Pen Press, 2018.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
307 pages ; 22 cm
Status:
Crofton Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
MYSTERY FICTION (G)
Glen Burnie Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
MYSTERY FICTION (G)
Linthicum Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
MYSTERY FICTION (G)
Description

"Golden age fans will appreciate how Sikander works his way through an array of suspects. Once again, Gaind successfully blends detection with history." --Publishers WeeklySTARRED review

December, 1911. All of India is in a tizzy. A vast tent city has sprung up outside the old walled enclave of Mughal Delhi, where the British are hosting a grand Durbar to celebrate the coronation of the new King, George V. From across India, all the Maharajas and Nawabs have gathered at the Viceroy of India's command to pay homage and swear loyalty to the King Emperor, the first monarch of England to travel out to India personally.

Maharaja Sikander Singh of Rajpore is growing increasingly bored, cooling his heels at the Majestic Hotel as he awaits George V's arrival. Just as his frustration is about to peak, a pair of British officers shoulders in. They insist that he accompany them to the British Encampment. Irked, but his curiosity piqued, Sikander agrees. To his surprise, they take him to the King Emperor's quarters where Sikander's old school friend, Malik Umar Hayat Khan, the Durbar herald, awaits. Malik Umar is serving Lord Hardinge, the Viceroy and the highest-ranked Englishman in the country. Lord Hardinge, overruling several subordinates, tells Sikander that his services as a sleuth are needed by King and country. Sworn to secrecy, Sikander is ushered into George V's personal chambers.

And there he finds the cause for his extraordinary summons--an exquisite nautch-girl, hanged until dead. Employing techniques he has learned from studying Eugene Vidocq and Sherlock Holmes, Sikander examines the scene and demonstrates the girl was not a suicide, but murdered.

Her death at the very heart of the encampment could ruin the enormously costly celebration and spark deep political repercussions in India and in England. Under this pressure, the Viceroy hands Sikander both the case to solve and a ticking clock--he must complete his investigation before George V arrives. And under the surveillance of one Captain Campbell of an elite British regiment.

The list of suspects and motives is too large, the number of hours for the task too few. But he gave his word and so the Maharaja must put his skills to work. In the end, Sikander wishes he had not.

The Maharaja Mysteries are perfect reading for fans of Tarquin Hall, Barbara Cleverly, and the late HRF Keating--and Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Coyle.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Crofton Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
MYSTERY FICTION (G)
On Shelf
Glen Burnie Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
MYSTERY FICTION (G)
On Shelf
Linthicum Library - Adult Mystery Fiction
MYSTERY FICTION (G)
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781464209208, 1464209200

Notes

Description
"December, 1911. A vast tent city has sprung up outside the old walled enclave of Mughal Delhi, where the British are hosting a grand Durbar to celebrate the coronation of the new King, George V. Maharaja Sikander Singh of Rajpore is growing increasingly bored, cooling his heels at the Majestic Hotel as he awaits George V's arrival. Just as his frustration is about to peak, a pair of British officers shoulders in. They insist that he accompany them to the British Encampment. Lord Hardinge, overruling several subordinates, tells Sikander that his services as a sleuth are needed by King and country. Sworn to secrecy, Sikander is ushered into George V's personal chambers. And there he finds the cause for his extraordinary summons--an exquisite nautch-girl, hanged until dead. Employing techniques he has learned from studying Eugene Vidocq and Sherlock Holmes, Sikander examines the scene and demonstrates the girl was not a suicide, but murdered"--,Provided by publisher.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Gaind, A. (2018). Death at the Durbar: a Maharaja mystery. First edition. Scottsdale, AZ: Poisoned Pen Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Gaind, Arjun. 2018. Death At the Durbar: A Maharaja Mystery. Scottsdale, AZ: Poisoned Pen Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Gaind, Arjun, Death At the Durbar: A Maharaja Mystery. Scottsdale, AZ: Poisoned Pen Press, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Gaind, Arjun. Death At the Durbar: A Maharaja Mystery. First edition. Scottsdale, AZ: Poisoned Pen Press, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f7658bbc-dd75-27ac-2690-6367de87aadc
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time May 03, 2019 04:38:12 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time May 03, 2019 04:36:47 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02738cam a2200457Ki 4500
001a1427756
003SIRSI
00520180226114003.0
008180205s2018    azu           000 1 eng d
010 |a  2017938960
040 |a DAD |b eng |e rda |c DAD |d SO$ |d BDX |d A2A
020 |a 9781464209208 |q (trade pbk.) : |c $15.95
020 |a 1464209200
035 |a (OCoLC)1023114423
043 |a a-ii--- |a e-uk---
08204 |a 823/.92 |2 23
092 |a MYSTERY FICTION (G)
049 |a A2AA
1001 |a Gaind, Arjun |e author.
24510 |a Death at the Durbar : |b a Maharaja mystery / |c Arjun Raj Gaind.
250 |a First edition.
264 1 |a Scottsdale, AZ : |b Poisoned Pen Press, |c 2018.
300 |a 307 pages ; |c 22 cm
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier
4900 |a The second Maharaja mystery
520 |a "December, 1911. A vast tent city has sprung up outside the old walled enclave of Mughal Delhi, where the British are hosting a grand Durbar to celebrate the coronation of the new King, George V. Maharaja Sikander Singh of Rajpore is growing increasingly bored, cooling his heels at the Majestic Hotel as he awaits George V's arrival. Just as his frustration is about to peak, a pair of British officers shoulders in. They insist that he accompany them to the British Encampment. Lord Hardinge, overruling several subordinates, tells Sikander that his services as a sleuth are needed by King and country. Sworn to secrecy, Sikander is ushered into George V's personal chambers. And there he finds the cause for his extraordinary summons--an exquisite nautch-girl, hanged until dead. Employing techniques he has learned from studying Eugene Vidocq and Sherlock Holmes, Sikander examines the scene and demonstrates the girl was not a suicide, but murdered"-- |c Provided by publisher.
60000 |a George |b V, |c King of Great Britain, |d 1865-1936 |v Fiction.
61010 |a Great Britain. |b Army |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Murder |x Investigation |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Young women |x Crimes against |v Fiction.
651 0 |a India |x History |v Fiction.
655 7 |a Detective and mystery fiction. |2 lcgft
930 |a 01342/wlj (row)
938 |a Brodart |b BROD |n 119315211
994 |a C0 |b A2A
596 |a 4 7 10
999 |a MYSTERY FICTION (G) |w DEWEY |c 1 |i 31997100367234 |d 9/9/2018 |e 8/31/2018 |l A-FIC-MYST |m CRO |n 7 |p $15.95 |r Y |s Y |t A-FIC-MYST |u 2/28/2018 |z ADULT
999 |a MYSTERY FICTION (G) |w DEWEY |c 1 |i 31997100367218 |d 7/12/2018 |e 7/10/2018 |l A-FIC-MYST |m NCO |n 7 |p $15.95 |r Y |s Y |t A-FIC-MYST |u 2/28/2018 |z ADULT
999 |a MYSTERY FICTION (G) |w DEWEY |c 1 |i 31997100367226 |d 5/2/2019 |e 4/29/2019 |l A-FIC-MYST |m LIN |n 5 |p $15.95 |r Y |s Y |t A-FIC-MYST |u 2/28/2018 |z ADULT