All library locations will be closed through May 3 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. More information.

Fines will not be charged while the library system is closed. Please keep your items until we reopen.

Midnight blue
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Uniform Title:
Contributors:
Published:
New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2018.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
327, 4 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (V)
Description

From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman's rise as a painter in Holland's Golden Age--perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Amsterdam 1654: against the backdrop of Holland's Golden Age, a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life.

Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five-year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Golden Age and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East. Madam Van Nulandt passes her time taking expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin, and when Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress's work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue.

When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to the smaller city of Delft. There, her gift as a painter earns her a chance to earn a living painting pottery at a local workshop. Slowly, the workshop begins to develop a new type of pottery to rival fancy blue-on-white imported Chinese porcelain--and the graceful and coveted Delft Blue designs she creates help revolutionize the industry. But when tragedy strikes, Catrin must decide whether to defend her newfound independence, or return to the village that she'd fled.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (V)
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
0062686860, 9780062686862

Notes

General Note
Translation of: Nachtblauw. - Netherlands : AmbosAnthos, 2016.
General Note
Includes reading group questions.
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (page 327).
Description
Amsterdam 1654. Following the sudden death of her husband, Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Madam Van Nulandt takes expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin. When Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress's work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue. When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to the smaller city of Delft. There, her gift as a painter earns her a chance to earn a living painting pottery at a local workshop.
Language
Translated from the Dutch.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Vlugt, S. v. d., & Watson, J. (. (2018). Midnight blue. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Vlugt, Simone van der, 1966- and Jenny (Translator), Watson. 2018. Midnight Blue. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Vlugt, Simone van der, 1966- and Jenny (Translator), Watson, Midnight Blue. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Vlugt, Simone van der, and Jenny (Translator) Watson. Midnight Blue. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
f30ea7dd-cac9-9438-193c-366d1eb02923
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeFeb 04, 2020 04:13:18 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 04, 2020 04:11:33 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02578cam a2200529Ii 4500
001a1452897
003SIRSI
00520180829104608.0
008180101t20182016nyu      b    000 1 eng d
040 |a YDX|b eng|e rda|c YDX|d FO7|d ZQP|d JNE|d UAP|d OCLCF|d ILC|d A2A
020 |a 0062686860|q (paperback)
020 |a 9780062686862|q (paperback) :|c $15.99
035 |a (OCoLC)1017577331
0411 |a eng|h dut
043 |a e-ne---
092 |a VLU
092 |a FICTION (V)
049 |a A2AA
1001 |a Vlugt, Simone van der,|d 1966-|e author.
24010|a Nachtblauw.|l English
24510|a Midnight blue /|c Simone van der Vlugt ; translated by Jenny Watson.
264 1|a New York :|b William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|c 2018.
264 4|c ©2016
300 |a 327, 4 pages ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
500 |a Translation of: Nachtblauw. - Netherlands : AmbosAnthos, 2016.
500 |a Includes reading group questions.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (page 327).
520 |a Amsterdam 1654. Following the sudden death of her husband, Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Madam Van Nulandt takes expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin. When Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress's work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue. When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to the smaller city of Delft. There, her gift as a painter earns her a chance to earn a living painting pottery at a local workshop.
546 |a Translated from the Dutch.
650 0|a Delftware|v Fiction.
650 0|a Pottery, Dutch|z Netherlands|z Delft|v Fiction.
650 0|a Porcelain, Dutch|z Netherlands|z Delft|v Fiction.
651 0|a Amsterdam (Netherlands)|x History|y 17th century|v Fiction.
651 0|a Delft (Netherlands)|x History|y 17th century|v Fiction.
60000|a Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn,|d 1606-1669|v Fiction.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft
7001 |a Watson, Jenny|c (Translator),|e translator.
930 |a Historical fiction
930 |a dcc/04585 (smw)
938 |a Brodart|b BROD|n 120922584
938 |a YBP Library Services|b YANK|n 15065783
994 |a C0|b A2A
596 |a 4 6 8
999 |a FICTION (V)|w AUTO|c 1|i 31997101866168|d 2/3/2020|e 1/30/2020|l A-FIC|m CRO|n 18|p $15.99|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC|u 9/6/2018|z ADULT