All library locations will be closed through June 15 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. More information.
Fines will not be charged while the library system is closed. Please keep your items until we reopen.

Get a Virtual Library Card

Hacking Darwin: genetic engineering and the future of humanity
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks, [2019].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
xxiii, 326 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Status:
4 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
576.5 M
Severn Library - Nonfiction
576.5 M
Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
576.5 M
Description

"A gifted and thoughtful writer, Metzl brings us to the frontiers of biology and technology, and reveals a world full of promise and peril." -- Siddhartha Mukherjee MD, New York Times bestselling author of The Emperor of All MaladiesandThe Gene

Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deusand The Gene.

After 3.8 billion years humankind is about to start evolving by new rules...

From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives -- sex, war, love, and death.

At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race.

Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we?

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
576.5 M
On Shelf
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
576.5 M
Checked Out
Severn Library - Nonfiction
576.5 M
On Shelf
Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
576.5 M
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Street Date:
1904
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781492670094, 149267009X

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (p. 269-306) and index.
Description
From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives sex, war, love, and death. At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race. Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we? Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Metzl, J. F. (2019). Hacking Darwin: genetic engineering and the future of humanity. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Metzl, Jamie Frederic. 2019. Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Metzl, Jamie Frederic, Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Metzl, Jamie Frederic. Hacking Darwin: Genetic Engineering and the Future of Humanity. Naperville, Illinois: Sourcebooks, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
6dd6e731-04ac-7f7f-a8e7-a40bd2a032d3
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeApr 23, 2020 04:17:35 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 23, 2020 04:15:20 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03361cam a2200481 i 4500
001a1577315
003SIRSI
00520200203131755.7
008180824s2019    ilua    rb    001 0 eng  
010 |a  2018041051
040 |a NLM|b eng|e rda|c NLM|d OCLCO|d DLC|d OCLCA|d FM0|d OCLCO|d UAP|d MAC|d OCLCF
0167 |a 101732889|2 DNLM
020 |a 9781492670094|q (hardcover : alk. paper) :|c $25.99
020 |a 149267009X|q (hardcover : alk. paper)
035 |a (OCoLC)1040198428
042 |a pcc
05000|a QH437
06010|a QU 550.5.G47
08200|a 576.5|2 23
092 |a 576.5 M
1001 |a Metzl, Jamie Frederic,|e author.
24510|a Hacking Darwin :|b genetic engineering and the future of humanity /|c Jamie Metzl.
263 |a 1904
264 1|a Naperville, Illinois :|b Sourcebooks,|c [2019]
300 |a xxiii, 326 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (p. 269-306) and index.
5050 |a Where Darwin meets Mendel -- Climbing the complexity ladder -- Decoding identity -- The end of sex -- The divine sparks and pixie dust -- Rebuilding the living world -- Stealing immortality from the gods -- The ethics of engineering ourselves -- We contain multitudes -- The arms race of the human race -- The future of humanity.
520 |a From leading geopolitical expert and technology futurist Jamie Metzl comes a groundbreaking exploration of the many ways genetic-engineering is shaking the core foundations of our lives sex, war, love, and death. At the dawn of the genetics revolution, our DNA is becoming as readable, writable, and hackable as our information technology. But as humanity starts retooling our own genetic code, the choices we make today will be the difference between realizing breathtaking advances in human well-being and descending into a dangerous and potentially deadly genetic arms race. Enter the laboratories where scientists are turning science fiction into reality. Look towards a future where our deepest beliefs, morals, religions, and politics are challenged like never before and the very essence of what it means to be human is at play. When we can engineer our future children, massively extend our lifespans, build life from scratch, and recreate the plant and animal world, should we? Passionate, provocative, and highly illuminating, Hacking Darwin is the must read book about the future of our species for fans of Homo Deus and The Gene.
650 0|a Genetic engineering|x Moral and ethical aspects.
650 0|a Human genetics.
930 |a new190419
930 |a NEW
596 |a 1 12 14 16
949 |a 576.5 M|h ANNADNF|i 31997106653249|p 25.99|x OPENINGDAY
930 |a new190419
930 |a NEW
999 |a 576.5 M|w DEWEY|c 2|i 31997096546726|d 9/14/2019|e 8/26/2019|l A-NONFIC|m S-PK|n 7|p $25.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 4/19/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 576.5 M|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997096546718|d 8/20/2019|e 7/1/2019|l A-NONFIC|m WCO|n 4|p $25.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 4/19/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 576.5 M|w DEWEY|c 2|i 31997096546734|d 2/29/2020|e 2/29/2020|k CHECKEDOUT|l A-NONFIC|m WCO|n 13|p $25.99|r M|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 4/19/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 576.5 M|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997096546700|d 1/23/2020|e 1/5/2020|l A-NONFIC|m PRO|n 13|p $25.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 4/19/2019|z ADULT