All library locations will be closed through June 15 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. More information.
Fines will not be charged while the library system is closed. Please keep your items until we reopen.

Get a Virtual Library Card

A good enough mother
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Published:
New York, New York : Pamela Dorman Books, 2019.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
ix, 338 pages ; 24 cm
Status:
7 copies, 1 person is on the wait list.
Broadneck Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction has 2
FICTION (T)
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
Description
"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train "Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient. " --Booklist A riveting page-turner that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control. . . Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality.... An utterly compelling drama with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Broadneck Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
On Shelf
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
On Shelf
Crofton Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
On Shelf
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
On Shelf
Glen Burnie Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
Checked Out
Linthicum Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
On Shelf
Severna Park Library - Adult Fiction
FICTION (T)
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780525561255, 0525561250

Notes

Description
"Ruth Hartland is the director of a trauma unit, a psychotherapist with years of experience, wise and respected by her peers. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about the dissolution of her marriage and her family, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. Boundaries she would never have crossed with another patient are crossed. And before long, events spiral out of control.... An utterly compelling pageturner with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must"--,Provided by publisher.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Thomas, B. (2019). A good enough mother. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Thomas, Bev. 2019. A Good Enough Mother. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Thomas, Bev, A Good Enough Mother. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Thomas, Bev. A Good Enough Mother. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7cbee42a-be93-2338-9add-8762ab34b295
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeApr 23, 2020 04:17:38 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 23, 2020 04:15:20 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03217cam a22004698i 4500
001a1591534
003SIRSI
00520200214075002.2
008180906s2019    nyu           000 1 eng  
010 |a  2018039700
040 |a DLC|b eng|e rda|c DLC|d BDX|d YDX|d ORX|d DLC|d GK8|d OCLCF|d ZVR|d WYL|d OCLCO |d JSE|d IDLEW|d A2A
019 |a 1048444108
020 |a 9780525561255|q (hardback) :|c $26.00
020 |a 0525561250
035 |a (OCoLC)1051779090|z (OCoLC)1048444108
042 |a pcc
05000|a PR6120.H639|b G66 2019
08200|a 823/.92|2 23
092 |a FICTION (T)
049 |a A2AA
1001 |a Thomas, Bev,|e author.
24512|a A good enough mother /|c Bev Thomas.
264 1|a New York, New York :|b Pamela Dorman Books,|c 2019.
300 |a ix, 338 pages ;|c 24 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
520 |a "Ruth Hartland is the director of a trauma unit, a psychotherapist with years of experience, wise and respected by her peers. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in," disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half-life, waiting for him to return. Enter a new patient, Dan--unstable and traumatized--who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon, her own complicated feelings, about the dissolution of her marriage and her family, about how she has failed her own boy, cloud her professional judgement. Boundaries she would never have crossed with another patient are crossed. And before long, events spiral out of control.... An utterly compelling pageturner with a timebomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering, and how to let go of the ones we love when we must"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Families|v Fiction.
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd
655 7|a Thrillers (Fiction)|2 lcgft
930 |a 0529/wlj (smw) dcc/5089 (smw)
596 |a 1 2 4 5 7 10 14
949 |a FICTION (T)|h ANNADFIC|i 31997106756455|p 26.00|x OPENINGDAY
930 |a 0529/wlj (smw) dcc/5089 (smw)
999 |a FICTION (T)|w AUTO|c 1|i 31997101302453|d 8/31/2019|e 8/21/2019|l A-FIC|m S-PK|n 8|p $26.00|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC|u 4/26/2019|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (T)|w AUTO|c 1|i 31997101302743|d 9/23/2019|e 9/5/2019|l A-FIC|m EAN|n 9|p $26.00|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC|u 4/26/2019|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (T)|w AUTO|c 2|i 31997101302479|d 9/11/2019|e 9/7/2019|l A-FIC|m CRO|n 9|p $26.00|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC|u 4/26/2019|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (T)|w AUTO|c 3|i 31997077658896|d 10/11/2019|e 9/25/2019|l A-FIC|m CRO|n 11|p $26.00|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC|u 6/3/2019|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (T)|w AUTO|c 1|i 31997101302461|d 10/19/2019|e 9/30/2019|l A-FIC|m LIN|n 9|p $26.00|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC|u 4/26/2019|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (T)|w AUTO|c 1|i 31997077658938|d 11/4/2019|e 10/14/2019|l A-FIC|m BDN|n 8|p $26.00|r Y|s Y|t A-FIC|u 6/3/2019|z ADULT
999 |a FICTION (T)|w AUTO|c 1|i 31997101302735|d 3/10/2020|e 3/10/2020|k CHECKEDOUT|l A-FIC|m NCO|n 13|p $26.00|r M|s Y|t A-FIC|u 4/26/2019|z ADULT