Returned items are quarantined for 96 hours before they are checked in. Fines are not applied while items are in quarantine.

What set me free: a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Published:
New York : Atria Paperback, 2019.
Format:
Book
Edition:
First Atria paperback edition.
Physical Desc:
312 pages ; 22 cm
Status:
Broadneck Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
Busch Annapolis Library - Nonfiction has 2
921 BANKS
Description
*The story that inspired the film Brian Banks * Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story of a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL. At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit. Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal--and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison. At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded by darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, he made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment. When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to rebuild his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true. Perfect for fans of Just Mercy , I Beat the Odds , and Infinite Hope , this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Broadneck Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Brooklyn Park Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Busch Annapolis Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Busch Annapolis Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Crofton Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Hold
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
Checked Out
Eastport-Annapolis Neck Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Edgewater Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Linthicum Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Odenton Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
Riviera Beach Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
Checked Out
Severna Park Library - Nonfiction
921 BANKS
On Shelf
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781982121310, 1982121319

Notes

General Note
"The story that inspired the major motion picture Brian Banks."--Cover.
Description
"The unforgettable and inspiring true story of Brian Banks, whose youth was shattered by a miscarriage of justice, yet who still found a way to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL."--Back cover.
Description
At sixteen Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player; by his seventeenth birthday he was in jail awaiting trial for a crime he did not commit. As a young black man accused of rape, he was advised to take a plea deal-- and was sentenced to six years in prison. Banks made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. Emerging from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he set out to prove his innocence. As his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth came out and he was exonerated. At age twenty-eight, Banks made true his dream to play for the NFL. -- adapted from back cover
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Banks, B., & Dagostino, M. (2019). What set me free: a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed. First Atria paperback edition. New York: Atria Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Banks, Brian, 1985- and Mark Dagostino. 2019. What Set Me Free: A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed. New York: Atria Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Banks, Brian, 1985- and Mark Dagostino, What Set Me Free: A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed. New York: Atria Paperback, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Banks, Brian, and Mark Dagostino. What Set Me Free: A True Story of Wrongful Conviction, a Dream Deferred, and a Man Redeemed. First Atria paperback edition. New York: Atria Paperback, 2019. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
d05788a3-4bfc-6a6d-ac40-bdafe2395185
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeAug 01, 2020 04:20:38 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeAug 01, 2020 04:18:20 AM

MARC Record

LEADER04156cam a2200577Ii 4500
001a1622280
003SIRSI
00520200303135156.2
008181120s2019    nyu           000 0aeng d
040 |a YDX|b eng|e rda|e rda|c YDX|d BDX|d OCLCQ|d HBP|d ZQP|d UAP|d TCH|d ILC|d OCLCQ |d CLE
020 |a 9781982121310|q (softcover) :|c $16.99
020 |a 1982121319|q (softcover)
035 |a (OCoLC)1066118038
050 4|a GV939.B356|b A3 2019
08204|a 345.794|2 23
092 |a 921 BANKS
1001 |a Banks, Brian,|d 1985-|e author.
24510|a What set me free :|b a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed /|c Brian Banks with Mark Dagostino.
250 |a First Atria paperback edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Atria Paperback,|c 2019.
300 |a 312 pages ;|c 22 cm
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier
500 |a "The story that inspired the major motion picture Brian Banks."--Cover.
520 |a "The unforgettable and inspiring true story of Brian Banks, whose youth was shattered by a miscarriage of justice, yet who still found a way to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL."--Back cover.
520 |a At sixteen Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player; by his seventeenth birthday he was in jail awaiting trial for a crime he did not commit. As a young black man accused of rape, he was advised to take a plea deal-- and was sentenced to six years in prison. Banks made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. Emerging from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he set out to prove his innocence. As his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth came out and he was exonerated. At age twenty-eight, Banks made true his dream to play for the NFL. -- adapted from back cover
60010|a Banks, Brian,|d 1985-
650 0|a Football players|v Biography.
650 0|a Professional athletes|v Biography.
650 0|a Judicial error.
650 0|a False arrest.
655 7|a Autobiographies.|2 lcgft
7001 |a Dagostino, Mark|e author.
930 |a new190724
596 |a 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 13 14 16
949 |a 921 BANKS|h ANNADNF|i 31997106950108|p 16.99|x OPENINGDAY
949 |a 921 BANKS|h ANNADNF|i 31997106950116|p 16.99|x OPENINGDAY
930 |a new190724
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 3|i 31997096583190|d 1/22/2020|e 1/8/2020|l A-NONFIC|m BDN|n 4|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 2|i 31997096583216|d 7/31/2020|e 10/28/2019|k HOLDS|l A-NONFIC|m CRO|n 3|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 2|i 31997096583208|d 11/25/2019|e 11/4/2019|l A-NONFIC|m EDG|n 5|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 3|i 31997096583240|d 2/18/2020|e 2/7/2020|l A-NONFIC|m S-PK|n 5|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997096583257|d 3/7/2020|e 3/7/2020|k CHECKEDOUT|l A-NONFIC|m RIV|n 8|p $16.99|r M|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997096583174|d 8/1/2019|e 8/1/2019|l A-NONFIC|m WCO|n 1|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997096583232|d 2/22/2020|e 2/22/2020|k CHECKEDOUT|l A-NONFIC|m EAN|n 11|p $16.99|r M|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 2|i 31997096583273|d 1/23/2020|e 1/17/2020|l A-NONFIC|m EAN|n 1|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997096583224|d 11/8/2019|e 11/7/2019|l A-NONFIC|m BPK|n 1|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997106950108|d 7/20/2020|e 4/22/2020|l A-NONFIC|m ANN|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 4/14/2020|x OPENINGDAY|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 2|i 31997106950116|d 7/20/2020|e 4/22/2020|l A-NONFIC|m ANN|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 4/14/2020|x OPENINGDAY|z ADULT
999 |a 921 BANKS|w DEWEY|c 1|i 31997096583265|d 7/11/2020|e 3/3/2020|l A-NONFIC|m LIN|n 10|p $16.99|r Y|s Y|t A-NONFIC|u 7/24/2019|z ADULT